The shed
The Shed

Distant and lonely, the shed stands…waiting. The darkness within tries to spill out its door, but is captured by the light and is darkness no more. The door stands ajar. Does it bid me enter into its darkness? What will I find within its walls?

I see a window! Perhaps it isn’t dark inside at all. But…what if the window is covered? What if something is there, shutting out the light? How will I know…darkness or light…unless I go in? Dare I enter? ………..

How did I do????

Did I distract you from all the other elements that are surrounding the shed? Did the words cause you to focus on one small piece of the picture? There is so much more to see than just the shed and its darkness…

Snowflakes softly drifting down…

A white sky, in contrast to the towering trees in the distance

A small bench on which to rest…

Snow-covered grass that looks like a restless sea…

Sometimes I let myself get focused on the dark places of life. Words (mostly spoken by me, to myself) lure me away from all of GOD’s glory that surrounds me. Words that distract me from HIS light…HIS beauty…HIS calling…Words that lie to me, or only tell half-truths.

Words are powerful weapons. The tongue is “an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.” {James 3:8 NKJV}

“…the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. The tongue is so set among our members that it defiles the whole body, and sets on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire by hell. … With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.” {James 3:6, 9-10 NKJV}

My fellowship friend would say that I need to stop talking bad about GOD’s creation (me). The tongue can be a lethal weapon not only to others, but to my own self. This is why we fellowship!!! To remind each other that…

“…the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” {Hebrews 4:12 KJV}

When dark thoughts begin to attack our minds, we need to replace them with the most powerful weapon at our disposal…GOD’s Word!

“Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for Me?” {Jeremiah 32:27 NKJV}

When I keep GOD close…the darkness will be left in the distance.

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Feature photo by Channen M. Sallee (enhanced)

5 thoughts on “In The Distance…

  1. Love the style you have written in your post, you look like a shepard here, your voice echoes in your voice and you understand the balance between light and dark, beautiful.

    Like

  2. Eloquent! We tend to put our laser-like focus on all the negative things happening in our lives without acknowledging all the wonders of the world. Your post speaks to that so beautifully. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for the follow. 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading. And thanks for the follow 🙂
      I hope everyone will take the time to look ALL around and then weigh the good against the bad. Hopefully, good will be the victor!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment