“My voice You shall hear in the morning, O LORD; In the morning I will direct it to You, And I will look up.” {Psalm 5:3 NKJV}

When most people hear the phrase “look up” they automatically lift their eyes up.

When I hear, “look up” I automatically think of digging into some sort of research…lol

For instance, when writing HIS blog…I look up verses…

Psalm 5_3

Remember the old card catalogs? Where you had to sift through 1,000s of cards to look up a book?

Card Catalog

Does anyone remember asking their teacher how to spell a word…and the teacher’s response was…”Look it up in the dictionary!”

IMG_1862

I never did understand that, until I began to teach…lol

The point is…we don’t all think the same when we hear a word or phrase. To me “look up” usually means I’m looking down.

It’s so important that we pay attention to what people are saying. Not just the words, but meaning, as well.

My fellowship friend and I were discussing Proverbs 18:21:

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit.”

I asked, “We must be careful speakers, but also careful listeners, would you agree?”

ff replied, “ABSOLUTELY”

Be sure you know what is said before you respond. With my ff , I have learned that if I don’t understand something, then it needs to be clarified, no matter how silly it may seem. Someone can say one thing and we can hear something totally different.

Today’s challenge…look up…is a prime example of how two simple words can be taken in totally different direction.

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Featured photo by ff (enhanced)
16 thoughts on “Look Up…

  1. Thank you Emissary for reminding us how to communicate. We talk about how we pray do and we communicate with GOD but is that what is really being said? if we are communicating with GOD then we are receiving HIS message and HE is receiving our prayer. Hopefully I just misunderstand it but seldom do I hear people mention receiving GOD’s message when they talk about communicating with HIM. So thank you for reminding me/us that it depends on how we look at or understand what is said and HIS message.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember that. Good stuff.

    On Fri, Jul 8, 2016 at 2:26 PM, It Is Still Real wrote:

    > Emissary posted: “”My voice You shall hear in the morning, O LORD; In the > morning I will direct it to You, And I will look up.” {Psalm 5:3 NKJV} When > most people hear the phrase “look up” they automatically lift their > eyes up. When I hear, “look up” I automatically think o” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

