“If you love Me, keep My commandments.”

{John 14:15 NKJV}

I kept forgetting what day is was…

Yesterday, I spent the most wonderful day, just relaxing at my local park/lake. People watching…nature watching…fish watching…it was a very good day.

I was just sitting by the lake, watching the water ripple up on to the shore…then I’d see a small fish burst through the water’s surface, catching a meal…and catch myself trying to remember what day it was. Of course, it was Wednesday…but for some reason that fact would not stay planted in my mind. I was simply enjoying the beauty of GOD’s creation. Because I didn’t remember what day it was, I neglected to post a Wordless Wednesday thought.

But…as always…GOD’s plan is so much more perfect than my own. HE had something better in mind 🙂

My Fellowship Friend sent me one of the most simple verses in the Bible…

If you love me

I told ff that this verse used to cause me great disappointment, because it was so overwhelming…in my mind there were so many commandments to be kept. And because I did not always obey all of them, I felt like I was being a liar, when I said I love JESUS. I was making GOD’s Word way to complicated.

But the truth is, there are only 2 commandments that JESUS is asking us to keep…

“Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ “This is the first and great commandment. “And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ “On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”

{Matthew 22:37-40 NKJV}

Often, we put more weight upon ourselves than in necessary, which in turn gives a feeling of defeat. It really isn’t that hard…

Love GOD…Love everyone else !

When we do these two things, all the other things GOD desires, from us, will fall into place.

Relax…enjoy GOD and HIS creation…you only have a couple of things to do 🙂

Gaining strength through our fellowship…   

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

{1 John 1:3 KJV}

11 thoughts on “there are only 2…

    1. It is true that JESUS did instruct us to do this…but I lump that with “love everyone else” 🙂 If we love others, we should want them to know the love of CHRIST, and will want to share that love with them.

      Like

    1. I do too !!! Thankfully…HE is patient with us…always giving us another opportunity. I’m so glad for that !
      Happy Resurrection Day to you, also !!! What a great GOD we serve 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes! indeed He’s great in So Many ways–patience is one of them! So often I hear Him say, “settle, settle–take a breath, dear one”. From glory to glory, I’m getting a little better, whew! 🙂 I’m just curious–you don’t have to answer if you don’t care to–but do you get sad on Good Friday, like I do? Some years I’ve been kind of a wreck–as He gave me such a vivid imagination, that I easily put myself there among all the folks who’d heard Him say everything that would happen…and yet, they couldn’t believe He was dying…and then gone from the tomb…an overwhelming sense of loss and confusion. Tonight I was listening to a fabulous message (Joseph Prince) about how the very FIRST act Jesus did after He was resurrected, was to dry Mary Magdalene’s tears and comfort her. Oh how that underlined His priority to be Tender with us–just what I need everyday!! Blessed me down to my toes!! And may you be SO BLESSED too, my sister ❤ Love sharing back and forth with you!

        Like

      2. It has never occurred to me to be sad on Good Friday. In order for us to live, HE had to die. But knowing HE wasn’t going to stay in the grave always brought great hope ! My hope, today, is that we have learned a lesson from their doubt…and don’t repeat history. I want to always trust in HIS Word…in HIS love…knowing that all the things that are happening to me, right now, have a purpose. I’m the one that makes things hard, so I obviously have not learned my lesson, yet. But, I do love HIM, and I am daily learning to give all of myself to HIM, and HIS purpose. Some days aren’t always bright, but HE brings healing. Today, it was in the form of your message 🙂 Thank you, so much, for sharing your heart with me ❤
        I pray abundant blessings for you, today 🙂

        Like

      3. You are Blessed, AND a Blessing! The main reason I used to be so sad was because I felt totally unworthy of His sacrifice–I mean, we all are, but I grew up with abuse and resulting self-worth issues; so I’m always cheered by messages that, “even if I were the only one, Jesus would have gone to the cross for me”. That makes me feel better, and loved–and as you said, He didn’t stay in the grave…AND HE’S COMING BACK FOR US–YIPPEEEEE!! HALLELUJAH!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It is so important to remember that we just need to follow Him and He will lead the way. I used to tell my husband that what I wanted more than anything was for him to be totally sold out to God because then everything else would fall into place. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen but he did mention it in his last letter to me before he died and said he had confessed everything to God.

    Like

    1. I used to tell my husband the very same thing ! I didn’t get that letter before he died. I think when men realize that they need to love GOD first, then relationships will begin to be mended and become so much stronger !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. He is the Source of life, both the creation and act of living. With Him, we have hope, direction and purpose and relationships become more focused and seen in a positive light rather than a destructive one. I wish they could see it, or could have seen it, too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment