Today’s reminiscence comes from August, 2016. It is Part 2 of a Wordless Wednesday post, Oscar’s Adventure.

I hope you will enjoy reminiscing with me today 🙂

Oscar peeking

I so badly wanted to include these thoughts with Oscar’s first post today…but I also wanted to keep it Wordless…GOD had other plans 🙂

When I saw Oscar start climbing up the tree, this morning, the first things I thought of was today’s word prompt…miniature…and Zacchaeus…

“And he [Zacchaeus] sought to see who Jesus was, but could not because of the crowd, for he was of short stature. So he ran ahead and climbed up into a sycamore tree to see Him, for He was going to pass that way.” {Luke 19:3-4 NKJV}

Oscar climbed the tree because…first of all, because he’s crazy…lol. And secondly…he had a goal in mind. He wanted to get up higher so he could look around and then he wanted to get on top of the house. He was on a mission! Climbing that tree wasn’t the easiest thing for him to do…he doesn’t do it often, but today he decided to put forth the extra effort so that he could get a good look at what was going on. Oscar in a tree1

It was the same with Zacchaeus. He wanted to see what all the commotion was about. He wanted to see JESUS. And can you just picture this miniature man…jumping up to try to catch the lowest branch so that he could get up in that tree!!! 🙂 🙂

The thing is, he didn’t care what he looked like to the crowd. JESUS was more important. Just seeing HIM was all Zacchaeus had on his mind and he put forth a lot of effort to make it happen.

I think about the things GOD has asked me to do. Things that, in my mind, would make me look silly to the crowd around me. I mean really…YOU want me to get up on stage, in front of a bunch of people and act??? or sing??? or play the piano??? These things were giant trees that HE was asking me to climb.

But HIS glory and my wanting to be obedient outweighed the potential embarrassment I might have felt. I had to jump up for that branch, climb that tree, and that’s where I got to see JESUS.

I’m sure Zaccheaus was very glad that he climbed a tree that day. JESUS saw the special effort he made.

“When Jesus came by, he looked up at Zacchaeus and called him by name. “Zacchaeus!” he said. “Quick, come down! I must be a guest in your home today.”” {Luke 19:5 NLT}

Wouldn’t you love to hear HIM say that to you??? And then HE said…

“Salvation has come to this home today, for this man has shown himself to be a true son of Abraham. For the Son of Man came to seek and save those who are lost.”” {Luke 19:9-10 NLT}

HE can do a lot of amazing things when we quit worrying about what we are going to look like to others and just concentrate on how we look to HIM.

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Leave a Reply

