Why do you suppose we humans often continue to engage in behaviors that we know are destructive to ourselves?

The Apostle Paul wrote:

“And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.”

{Romans 7:18-19 NLT}

WOW! If Paul said he couldn’t do what was right, what hope is there for me ????

My Dear Friends…there is hope!

Sometimes, the answer is to simply STOP doing those things.

I know! I can hear you now, saying, “That’s easy for you to say! You don’t know what I’m going through!!”

Well, I may not know the exact circumstances of your life, but I do know mine…and trust me when I say, I know all-to-well the struggle of denying my sinful nature. Perhaps, one day, GOD will allow me to reveal some or all of these sinful behaviors. It’s a lot to confess and it has not been easy to finally come to the place where I understand that giving in to the desires of the flesh comes with some very severe consequences.

So, let me tell you some of the things I’ve STOPPED doing…

  • Asking “Why?”
    • This is a waste of time. GOD has a plan and I don’t have to understand it, all I have to do is be obedient to HIS leading. I must trust HIM.

“”My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.”

{Isaiah 55:8 NLT}

  • Disrespecting my body
    • There are a lot of ways that I was doing this, and I had to STOP doing them all. (I must confess that this is still a work in progress)

“Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself,”

{1 Corinthians 6:19 NLT}

  • Expecting people to fulfill my needs
    • This is a hard one, because as a human, I want to have someone to share things with, to inspire me, to comfort me, to laugh with me…but I’ve had to learn that people can’t be trusted. That makes me very sad, but I have joy in knowing that GOD will never let me down. HE is always doing what is in my best interest, even if I don’t understand it, at the time.

“All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort.”

{2 Corinthians 1:3 NLT}

  • Saying “Yes” when I really should say “No”
    • Charles Stanley has a great message about this topic: “The Courage to Say ‘No’” Take a moment to watch what he has to say.
      We have many reasons for saying “Yes” when we really know we should say “No.” But I have had to understand that my relationship with GOD is much more important than what people think of me.

“Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ.”

{Colossians 2:8 NLT}

  • Thinking that GOD is not paying attention to what I am doing
    • I always thought that I was not important enough for GOD to give me HIS attention. But the truth is, we are ALL important! And everything we do is observed by HIM. Everything we do influences something or someone. We have no way of knowing how big or small that influence will be. WE are all important!

“The LORD looks down from heaven and sees the whole human race. From his throne he observes all who live on the earth. … But the LORD watches over those who fear him, those who rely on his unfailing love.”

{Psalm 33:13-14, 18 NLT}

Now, I have to say that I did not STOP all these things instantly (as I said, I’m still working on some things). But, there is HOPE. Even though Paul wrote that he couldn’t seem to do the right thing, he also wrote:

“I love God’s law with all my heart. … Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death?”

{Romans 7:22, 24 NLT}

“So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. And because you belong to him, the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you from the power of sin that leads to death. … So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.”

{Romans 8:1-2, 6 NLT}

The answer to my opening question is: We continue in our sinful behaviors because we are not letting the SPIRIT take control. The way to do this is to make JESUS your best friend. HE should be the One we talk to most, think about most often, depend on…Stay immersed in HIS Word, talk about HIM often, and most importantly…obey HIM when HE speaks to you.

You can STOP giving in to destructive behavior and START receiving the blessings that GOD wants you to have!

Gaining strength through our fellowship… 

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

{1 John 1:3 KJV}

Leave a Reply

