Yesterday was a busy day for me and I didn’t get a chance to post my Sunday reminiscence…so I’m doing it today…I hope you enjoy 🙂

 

“He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.” {Psalm 91:4 NLT}

Today, The Weather Channel was kind enough to send me a severe weather alert. TheyRolling Clouds--CSY told me that potentially severe weather would be in my area and that I should take the proper precautions.

Well…as I sat at my desk, at work, I could see the storm clouds rolling in from the West (ff would be so proud that I knew what direction I was facing…lol). And then I heard the thunder…it was then that I remembered that the windows in my car were rolled down and just as I got up to go roll them up…the rain began!!!

I rushed out to my car, which was parked on the East side of the building and as I walked out the door, I looked up to see the sun shining and there were just a few drops of rain falling. CRAZY!!! It was less than 100 yards from my desk to my car, yet the storm had not gotten there yet. So, because I got up and made a decision to protect the inside of my car, it was saved from the damaging rain that was literally inches away.

Clear Sky-CSYThen…as I left work the rain was really coming down. I could see the streams beginning to form along the curbs as I made my way home…which is only about 10 minutes from where I work. When I had driven four blocks toward home…the rain disappeared!!! By the time I got to my house, there was little evidence that there had been much rain at all…and absolutely no sign of any kind of severe weather! Funny how a little distance can make such a big difference.

Like the Weather Channel’s weather alert, GOD’s Word alerts us to the damaging things that are headed our way. Things that are just inches from us and have the potential to do great harm. There is no great mystery about what is out to destroy us.

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.” {1 Peter 5:8 NKJV}

But we don’t need to be ignorant about what to do to be safe. Just as I got up from my desk and DID something to protect my car’s interior, you and I have the power to do something to protect ourselves from the attacks of Satan.

My fellowship friend sent me this verse a long time ago, and asked what my thoughts were about it…

“No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” {1 Corinthians 10:13 NKJV}

The simplest response I gave was…

“Sometimes the way of escape is to simply run away.”

I think we too often look for the “miracle” way out of the storms in our lives, when all we need do is move…just like I avoided the severe weather today by simply driving a few blocks…you and I can have peace…when we run into the shelter of HIS arms.

I do pray peace for all of you today…and every day 🙂

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Daily Prompt: storm

Photos by CSY

 

One thought on “Sometimes we run…

Leave a Reply

