“”Arise, go to Nineveh, …But Jonah arose to flee to Tarshish from the presence of the LORD.”

{Jonah 1:2-3 NKJV}

Have you ever felt like Jonah?

Has GOD told you to do something…or is telling you to do something…and instead of heeding HIS command, you go and do your own thing?

I regret to say that I have done this more than once. Let me tell you a story…

When my youngest son was born, our family was living on my Grandmother’s farm and struggling to make ends meet. We already had two children, and now a third had arrived. I happily stayed home, with the three children, while my husband worked two jobs to support our growing family. As time went on, though, it was decided that I needed to go to work, as well.

Now, let me say this…I am an advocate of mother’s staying home with their children. Being a mother and a wife is a full-time job…but I will also say that GOD does not speak the same thing to everyone. HE did, however, speak to me and tell me that I should stay home. Looking back, I can see that HE did this so that HE could grow our faith in HIM…so that we would rely on HIM and not ourselves, to supply our needs…but back to the story…

So, baby boy was 13 months old when I went back to work. As you know, the first step to Moms returning to the workforce is to find someone to care for the children. So that’s what we did. We had a friend who said she would watch the children, while I worked. (I’m going to try to make this short…) After a couple of weeks, she said she could no longer watch the children, so we looked for someone else.

My sister volunteered to watch them, so I went back to work for a few more weeks. But then, she told us she could no longer watch them. So the search began again…you can see where this is going, can’t you?

One more time, we found someone to care for the children…but this time, instead of just losing the babysitter, something more severe happened.

Now GOD had been telling me, this whole time, that I needed to be the one taking care of our children. It cost just about all I made to pay for childcare and the money it took to drive to work, food, etc…We were not getting ahead and our faith in GOD was definitely not growing.

So, one final time, GOD showed me where I belonged, but HE had to get extreme about it!

Our 13-month-old, baby boy got sick. At first, I thought it was just the typical baby-get-sick thing. But as the days went on, instead of getting better, he got worse, so we finally took him to the doctor. It only took the doctor a few minutes to realize what was wrong with him. Our baby boy had contracted Spinal Meningitis.

I’m not going to go into a lot of details about what came next…but we did end up staying in the hospital for 10 days…and needless to say, I wasn’t going to work.

It was then, that I spoke to my husband and discussed the fact that all these things were happening because we were not listening to GOD…we were trying to supply our own needs and not letting GOD do what HE wants to do…take care of us !

FishBelly2

HE had to throw us “in the belly of the fish” in order for us to pay attention to what HE was telling us to do. And, I have to say that I am not proud of the fact that HE had to go to such an extreme in order to get our attention.

After this experience, I stayed home with the children. And as they got older, I went to school with them, working as a teacher’s aide in their school.

My dear friends, I told you this story because I don’t want anyone else to have to be chastised by GOD, the way I was. The belly of the fish is not a pleasant place to be…

I’ll ask again… Has GOD told you to do something…or is telling you to do something…and instead of heeding HIS command, you go and do your own thing?

Don’t be afraid to listen…have faith…

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.”

{Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV}

Gaining strength through our fellowship…   

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

{1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photos by: Mick

 

One thought on “In the belly of the fish…

  1. Sometimes it is so hard to sit still and listen. Listen to what Jesus has in store for us. There have been many times I felt like I was in the belly of the fish. I am a Young Living Essential Oils Distributor, when I started I was consumed with finding those who may be interested in becoming a member and starting an Oil Journey. The more I pushed, the more fustrated I became. Finally, I gave everything over to Jesus. Within a month two people asked about oils and became a member. This has certainly not be easy. Without Jesus I am nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

