“Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them. … who does not need daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifices, first for His own sins and then for the people’s, for this He did once for all when He offered up Himself.”

{Hebrews 7:25, 27 NKJV}

When you look at the world, does HIS creation remind you of HIM ?

In the “Wo d ess Wednesday” post, on May 10, 2017, there is a picture of a piece of driftwood. I hope you all got to see it (if not, you can click here).

Now, I don’t know about you, but I have a very vivid imagination. I see faces and shapes and animals in all kinds of weird places. I once saw a very elaborate face in a water stain on a piece of drywall…lol. And, of course, the clouds are always giving us a bunny or an elephant or some other creature, to look at 🙂 I have a hard time looking at a carpet and not finding some sort of image woven into its threads !

Well, when I was playing with the driftwood picture, I flipped it and immediately saw the image of a goat…

2Goats

When I saw the “goat” it made me think about the sacrifices that were made in the Old Testament. The goat was sacrificed as a sin offering. Every time the people of the Old Testament sinned, they had to bring a goat to the priests, because that sin offering could only cover the sin, not take it away.

Then I thought about how we don’t have to bring animals for sacrifices, any more, because JESUS gave Himself for us, as a ONE TIME sin offering…

“Not with the blood of goats and calves, but with His own blood He entered the Most Holy Place once for all, having obtained eternal redemption.”

{Hebrews 9:12 NKJV}

When JESUS gave Himself for us, HIS blood cleansed our sin from us…

“He gave his life to free us from every kind of sin, to cleanse us, and to make us his very own people, totally committed to doing good deeds.”

{Titus 2:14 NLT}

HE gave HIS life so that we could have eternal life…and when I say “we” I mean the whole world…

“The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.”

{2 Peter 3:9 NKJV}

I am so very grateful that JESUS made a willing sacrifice that cleanses sin. And it wasn’t just for the people of that day, but it is for us RIGHT NOW, also.

Gaining strength through our fellowship…   

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

{1 John 1:3 KJV}

A NOTE ABOUT THE GOAT…

The goat, in the picture, is a Nubian Goat. I did a little reading about them, and this breed contributes part of its heritage to Egypt and the Middle East.  I thought that was very interesting, and imagine that the goats, which were brought for sacrifices, probably looked very much like this goat. The live goat picture is from the website Hurlburt Farms. This farm breeds Mini Nubian Dairy goats. You should take a look at their site…the goats are so cute 🙂

4 thoughts on “Once for all…

  1. What a beautiful post–so thankful for HIS sacrifice on my behalf, lest I be eternally lost (not just dazed and confused often 🙂 ). I wonder if you’ve seen the movie, “Henry Poole Is Here”? It’s not in the Christian genre, but has God all over it…about a man who thinks he’s dying, buys a house on which a stain appears, and all the neighbors are convinced it’s the face of God and has power to heal. I liked it enough to purchase the DVD. God bless you as we embark on a new week ❤

    Like

    1. I have not seen that movie, but will look into it 🙂
      I, too, am so thankful that HE sacrificed HIMself for all of us!!
      I pray that week is full of blessings, also ❤

      Like

  2. Alice Sook…I don’t understand WordPress, and the way they allow replies…but I couldn’t reply directly to you response.
    As far as a prayer request…I would ask that you would pray that I would understand what it means to have Faith…I too need to trust HIM on a continual basis…I just need to put myself aside…which seems to be a much more complicated concept than what I had thought it was.

    Like

Leave a Reply

