“Jesus said unto him, If thou wilt be perfect, go and sell that thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come and follow me.”

{Matthew 19:21 KJV}

 

Minimal?

The word prompt, for today, had me looking through Scripture, trying to find something that pointed to…the least…that GOD expects from us…what did I find?

The exact opposite!!!

GOD does not want our minimal…HE wants it all!

The man that JESUS was speaking to, in this verse, was rich…he had it all…and he thought he had given his all…he obeyed all the commandments:

Don’t kill anyone

Don’t commit adultery

Don’t steal

Don’t lie

Honor your father and mother

Love your neighbor…

He had done his best to do the right thing…obey the commandments.

But…

There was something that was standing in the way of him giving himself, totally, to the service of GOD…STUFF

He had a lot of STUFF!! And when JESUS told him to get rid of that stuff, and replace it with the work that GOD had planned for him…

“…the young man heard that saying, [and] he went away sorrowful: for he had great possessions.”

{Matthew 19:22 KJV}

If there’s anything “minimal” about what GOD wants from me…it’s the stuff that I think is so important…that stuff that stands in the way of me giving my ALL to HIM and not worrying about where my next “whatever” is coming from.

GOD wants to bless us…but HE also wants us to serve HIM in the capacity that HE has ordained for us to follow…and we can’t let “stuff” get in the way.

Are you willing to live a minimal life so that HE can have the maximum effect on those, whose lives you touch?

HE’s brought me to a very minimal point…and I praise HIM for that…because I know that…

“He must increase, but I must decrease.” {John 3:30 KJV}

And…

“…my God shall supply all [my] need[s] according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

{Philippians 4:19 KJV}

When I am serving GOD…in the way that HE has instructed me to do…I never want for anything…all my needs have been met!!!

Take a self-check and see if there is something standing between you and GOD…is HE calling you to give it all away, so that you will have to rely on HIM? I know I have to rely on HIM for every single thing that I have!!

Gaining strength though our fellowship…  

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

{1 John 1:3 KJV}

Leave a Reply

