“And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men,”

{Colossians 3:23 NKJV}

The Oxford English Dictionary defines “heartily” as…

  1. In a heartfelt manner; with full or unrestrained exercise of real feeling; sincerely, earnestly; fervently.
  2. With courage, spirit, or zeal; spiritedly, zealously.

When my Fellowship Friend sent me this verse, I was in the middle of doing some reading for one of my classes. The topic was rather mundane…and then this verse popped up on my computer screen. I paused from my school work and read the verse.

Then I laughed to myself and wondered how I could read about Government Documents and “do it heartily, as to the Lord” ????

After some thought, it occurred to me that if I did this reading, and the subsequent classwork and homework, in a timely manner and a good attitude…it could be interpreted as doing it “heartily”!! If I did my best, then GOD would be honored with the outcome.

My Fellowship Friend is also taking online classes. This semester, one of FF classes is on how to be a Distance Student. FF has been a distance learner for many years and has hinted that this class is a bit frustrating. However, FF said that if this is GOD’s calling, then the work must be done “heartily” and with the other class members in mind.

(It’s not all about ourselves…is it?)

FF’s online experiences could be a great benefit to the entire class…a blessing 🙂

whisperheartily

Today’s verse tells us that “whatever” we do…that means the important things and the everyday things…take my G-baby, for instance. She does just about everything “heartily”…lol…including laundry! Now that’s some real laundry zeal!!!

And the thing is…she didn’t know I was going to use her character as an example…it’s just the way she is ALL THE TIME. And her enthusiasm is helping to spread the love of CHRIST!

“I do everything to spread the Good News and share in its blessings.”

{1 Corinthians 9:23 NLT}

Nothing is too mundane or frustrating or like work that we should not do it “heartily, as to the Lord…” You never know when a candid photo or words said in a conversation will be shared because people saw JESUS in what you were doing!

Gaining strength though our fellowship…

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

{1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photo insert by SFM

 

11 thoughts on “Whatever you do…

  1. This is Really GOOD–and I suspect if we do everything heartily, God will then prosper whatever He’s put in our hands to do (can’t recall that verse right now, but you probably know it!) 🙂 God bless you abundantly!! ❤

    Like

    1. I think I know what verse you’re referring to, but I couldn’t find it. But in my search I came across this little gem…

      “The generous will prosper; those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed.”
      {Proverbs 11:25 NLT}

      I pray GOD blesses you abundantly, as well ❤

      Like

  2. I love the picture. This has become a motto for me. Not that I always do it, but I say it often to my kids, we talk about it and I usually try to do something well if I do it. Thinking of doing it for Him is a wonderful inspiration. He does care about everything. Great post!

    Like

    1. My G-baby is a hoot! And a wonderful inspiration to me. It blesses my heart to hear that you are teaching your children about this…I don’t always do my “motto” either 🙂 But I’m thankful that GOD can use us to remind each other.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

