“Haughtiness goes before destruction; humility precedes honor.”

{Proverbs 18:12 NLT}

Last week, Dad and I were sitting outside, taking a break from the housework we’d been doing. Across the street, from my house, was a brick duplex that had been sitting vacant for almost 10 years. And sitting in front of the house was a large piece of equipment…and we knew what was coming…the house was going to be torn down.

From the outside, the duplex looker perfectly fine. It had a nice, metal roof…none of the windows were broken…nothing was sagging or falling off…it seemed a shame to tear it down. But then Dad told me that the house was severely infested with termites! It was being destroyed from the inside, and was no longer safe.

housedes2

So we sat there and watched, as a man climbed up on the large excavator, fired up the engine, and began knocking down the walls of the house. Swinging the large, toothed scoop into the hard brick wall, easily tumbling it…raising the excavator’s long arm high in the air only to bring it crashing down on the seemingly solid roof…and collapsing it all to the ground. And in less than 30 minutes…the entire house was just one big heap of rubble.

housedes3

Afterwards, I sat looking at the broken house and noticed many pieces of the metal roof, sticking out all over the crumbled wood and brick. I thought to myself, “That is still some good metal…even if someone just gathered it to be recycled…there’s still good in that rotten, ol’ house.”

Then GOD spoke and said this is what happens when a house is left unattended…empty…not being used like it’s supposed to be…and MY child…this is what’s happened to you.

I had been letting myself sit empty…Oh, I still looked like I was doing what I was supposed to be doing…on the outside. But inside, I was being destroyed by an infestation. I was putting on a good front, but within…I was allowing my own desires to take precedence over what GOD wanted me to be doing. And then…destruction came. And boy did it come!!!

I lost my job…my home…credibility…friends…I lost almost everything. And let me tell you…I didn’t handle it very well. That’s right…this person, who claims to be so in love with GOD…who writes about HIS goodness…who encourages others to “look to HIM”…yeah…I didn’t take my own advice and made myself and many others very miserable.

But, like the rubble of the demolished house…there were still some good pieces…some valuable pieces that stood out and could be used…(To be continued…)

Gaining strength though our fellowship… 

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

2 thoughts on “This ol’ house…

Leave a Reply

