“Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it.”

 {Proverbs 22:6 NKJV}

Several years ago, my children and I took a road trip up North. 12 hours on the road, each way, …4 adults…packed into a tiny little car! We had the best time!! 🙂

We took turns driving…it was my son’s turn to drive and we were cruising down the interstate, at 70+ miles-per-hour, when the unthinkable happened…we watched…as if in slow-motion…an SUV in front of us veer off the road, go down into the the median, and then shoot straight up into the air…flipping over in mid-air…then land on its roof.

 illproudI don’t really know how I felt at that moment, but my son reacted instantly. He pulled the car to the side of the road and jumped out and ran to the now up-side-down SUV. My son-in-law was only seconds behind him, while my daughter and I sat dumbfounded in the car. I don’t know what he thought he could do…he knew not to touch the people in the car but felt he needed to do something, even if it was just to let the people know that help was on the way…my son-in-law had his phone to his ear, calling for help, as he approached the vehicle. My son (and son-in-law) were simply doing what they’d been taught to do by their fathers…when you see a need…do something.

My son’s father was a people person. Everyone in town knew him…he was quick to help and easy to have a conversation. And because of his example…my son is the same kind of man. His father was not the kind that told his children what to do…instead…he showed them.

“A fool despises his father’s instruction, But he who receives correction is prudent.”

{Proverbs 15:5 NKJV}

I’m very proud of my son, for being the kind of man that paid attention to who his father was…he observed the good parts of his character and put them into action.

It’s very important that we teach our children how to have Godly character. In my opinion, this type of teaching is done most often by example, rather than with words. Our children see so much more than we think…both good and bad. The time that we have with them is always a teaching time…so teach your children well!

(The end of the story…all the people in the SUV survived…GOD is so good!)

Gaining strength through our fellowship…

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

2 thoughts on “Teach your children well…

  1. This has me in tears for various reasons–I’m so glad everyone survived, and for the lesson taught through example, and that your kids have a great father… It’s true that kids learn what they see…any my upbringing was not good, which still makes me weep. But I have our GOOD FATHER GOD now, and that’s what matters. Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

