“Let no one seek his own, but each one the other’s well-being.” {1 Corinthians 10:24 NKJV}

It seems to me that the world has become a place where we think we have to fulfill our own needs before we can give anything to someone else…

I see it all the time, in the book titles I see…talk shows…in the many blogs I read…and even from friends and family. People are saying …

I have to be happy before I can make anyone else happy.

sun-tree-blue1cor10_24-ffI hope you’ll forgive me for bursting that bubble…but, according to the Bible…that’s just not the way it’s supposed to work. And here’s why…

Jesus said:

Give, and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom. For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.”” {Luke 6:38 NKJV}

When Paul told the Corinthians to seek the well-being of others first, he had just reminded them of what had happen to the Children of Israel, after they had fled Egypt. They started thinking about pleasing themselves and because of that, those people did not get to enter into the Promised Land. (Read 1 Corinthians 10 for the whole story)

My dear friends, GOD has shown me that when I stop thinking about my needs first, and start making the needs of other the priority, my life is so much better. GOD’s Word says when you do something to meet others’ needs before your own:

“Then your light shall break forth like the morning, Your healing shall spring forth speedily, And your righteousness shall go before you; The glory of the LORD shall be your rear guard.” {Isaiah 58:8 NKJV}

How beautiful is that???

I want to enter into the Promised Land, don’t you?

Whose needs can you meet, today?

Gaining strength though our fellowship.  

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photos by ff (enhanced)

 

3 thoughts on “Me first! I don’t think so…

Leave a Reply

