Silence

What a big word!

Dictionary.com defines it as:

  1. absence of any sound or noise; stillness.
  2. the state of being forgotten; oblivion:
  3. concealment; secrecy

Silence is an action that can stir up so many emotions and cause many different reactions…

David wrote, in his Psalm:

“Unless the LORD had been my help, My soul would soon have settled in silence.” {Psalm 94:17 NKJV}

David needed GOD’s help, otherwise his being had nothing to say. He could do nothing without GOD. Think about that…there would be no purpose if GOD was not our help. Makes me wonder how people live without HIM.

Solomon wrote:

“A time to tear, And a time to sew; A time to keep silence, And a time to speak;” {Ecclesiastes 3:7 NKJV}

Solomon knew that there was a time when silence would be the most help. Sometimes we just don’t want to hear anything…advice, encouragement, reproof. Words simply will not make a difference, in some situations. And in the silence, we can hear GOD.

Peter wrote:

“For this is the will of God, that by doing good you may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men–” {1 Peter 2:15 NKJV}

It’s hard to argue with “doing good!” Although some will try, it doesn’t really matter what they say. GOD sees the good that you do…so keep on doing it!

What does silence  mean (or do) to me? Well…like I said, it’s a big word and there are many different kinds of silence. harvestmoon20164-ff

The most important silence is the silence that comes from GOD. This is a silence that I am still working on being comfortable with because when I think…let me say that again…when I think…GOD is being silent, the truth is HE’s telling me that HE has something better in store for me and that I need to wait for HIM to speak. I need to wait for HIM to show me what HE wants me to do. HIS silence tells me that I need to be seeking HIS will, reading HIS Word, talking to HIM, and most of all…I need to be listening.

There’s that awkward silence, when I’m talking on the phone. I just don’t know what to say and that silence makes me feel anxious.

There’s the silence when I’m riding in the car with my Dad. I don’t  have the radio on, when I’m in the car with someone else, because I feel it is a time for conversation (just one of my many idiosyncrasies…lol) But this silence is comfortable. Neither of us feel like we always have to be talking…although there are few times when we are  silent 🙂

There’s the silence of a friend, who has been texting you every day for a long time, and then the texts suddenly stop. I’m afraid to text them, because I don’t know why they stopped texting. Did I do something? Did they die? (it’s a possibility) or did they just get tired of me? This silence leaves me wondering and kind of sad.

There’s the silence of a child, who hasn’t spoken to me in over a year, or the one who hasn’t spoken to me in almost 16 years. This silence breaks my heart. It’s not a silence of my choosing, but it exists just the same. There is nothing I can do, that I haven’t already done, about this silence, so I simply must endure it and pray that it will one day end.

There is the silence that happens suddenly, when I walk into a room. This silence usually makes me laugh. I’m not in 6th grade anymore. If you have a problem with me, come tell me, that’s what mature people do.

Then there’s the silence of sitting next to a friend and just being together. No words need to be spoken, it’s a comfortable silence. There’s no fidgeting or heavy sighs. It’s peaceful and calm. This silence makes me very happy 🙂

Yeah…silence is a big word…and I could go on with many more, different kinds of silence. But, I’ll stop…I just want to leave you with this last thought.

“My people will dwell in a peaceful habitation, In secure dwellings, and in quiet resting places,” {Isaiah 32:18 NKJV}

Gaining strength though our fellowship.      

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photos by ff

Daily Prompt: Silence

4 thoughts on “Silence…

  1. I love your post–so many good words. I grieve with you for those situations of estrangement, as I have them too. And I love most what you said about what “seems” to be God’s silence. When I’m desperate and railing at God about a situation (or my hideously imperfect self), sometimes I feel that silence–but what I’ve learned is that He’s waiting for me to settle down, be still and listen. The situation doesn’t often change, but His comfort comes to the rescue every time, and eventually there will be a word from Him. It’s as though I’m a child/teenager and He knows I need a “time out”–because I can’t receive anything when I’m all riled up. Hope I didn’t jabber too much 🙂 God bless you Abundantly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jabber away!!! 🙂 You made a good point, that GOD’s silence is simply HIM waiting for us to listen. I am still learning, but the more I just be still for a moment and listen, the more I hear HIS voice, and the easier it gets to listen the next time. We are all a work in progress and I’m so thankful that HE is a patient GOD.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the excellent study. Despite loving parents, I grew up in some remarkable neglect/abuse. Experience taught me to rely upon my instincts and experience. Only after years (okay, decades) of what seemed like God’s silent sessions, I learned to lean on His faithfulness – “because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:15 Great post, Emissary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

