“You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You.” {Isaiah 26:3 NKJV}

“Everything is sunshine and roses!!!” 

NOT!

In the first part of this discussion, I talked about having peace in GOD and how that peace has to truly be in HIM and not in myself.

This type of peace is one that has to be real. By that, I mean…you can’t just keep telling yourself that you have this peace, you shouldn’t even have to “say” it…it should just BE. It should be a lifestyle…something lived without thought.

For example…the other day, I made the mistake of going to the mailbox (which I hate to do, because it’s hardly ever anything good!!!).  Sure enough, the one letter that was in there was some pretty disturbing news.

But, I had already read the verse that my fellowship friend sent me, and it was just a  reinforcement of the peaceful mindset that has become the norm for me.

“You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You.” {Isaiah 26:3 NKJV}

This peace comes from being content with what GOD is doing with me. If the letter in the mailbox is bad news, well…GOD is going to work it out…but I have to let HIM.

“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.” {Isaiah 55:9 NKJV}

When I stopped telling myself I have peace, and just started HAVING PEACE, then I was able to be happy. That’s what being content with GOD can do. It really is that simple.

For me…the hard part was letting go of my pride and selfishness and giving GOD first place in my life. What are you holding on to? What is it that is keeping you from having the peace that GOD wants you to have? When you take off the blinders, you may be surprised at what you see…I know I was!

Today, my prayer is that you will let GOD’s peace consume you 🙂

P.S.

If your life is already filled with the peace that only GOD can give…will you tell us about it? Was there a “turning point” ?

Gaining strength though our fellowship.   

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photo by ff
5 thoughts on “Take off the blinders…part 2

  1. I just started a new Bible study on Philippians and Colossians. Verse 2 is “Grace to you and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.” As part of the question we were to look up the words peace and grace. It is defined as “state of tranquility or serenity”. That is what life is like in God. Even in the horrible times, there is a peace knowing He’s in control and you’re not alone. Great couple of posts. So, so true.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment is a great addition to HIS blog! Thank you 🙂 There is peace in letting HIM be in control and just doing what HE has asked us to do. I have been experiencing HIS peace a lot lately. Things aren’t horrible, but they’re not “Sunshine and roses” either. But there is peace.

      Like

  2. This is another great post–I too have been thinking about the Isaiah verse, pondering how I must keep my focus steadfastly on the Lord. If I just keep mulling over stuff, I’ll never get the peace He’s promised us. It’s easy to get distracted by daily life, the past, etc–but much more pleasant to focus on Him. Thanks, and please keep feeding us here! God bless you with His favor 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

