“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” {Romans 8:28 NKJV}

So I have something to say about my Wordless Wednesday post…I’m sure that comes as no surprise to some of you  🙂

All I wanted was some ravioli…seemed pretty simple. So I went to the grocery store, bought a few groceries, including the can of ravioli (I know! Not healthful) and returned home very excited about my impending culinary indulgence.

That’s when tragedy struck. I put the world’s best can opener (according to my Dad!) to the can, gave it one turn…and it broke!!! Now I don’t know if you can appreciate the disappointment that sunk deep into my soul…I was devastated!  That one turn of the can opener did nothing, except crush my spirit!!! LOL

I began a frantic search for another can opener…to no avail. Then I thought to go to my neighbor and ask to borrow her’s, but she had company and I didn’t want to disturb them. I then started looking at my small collection of knives, trying to decide which one I would be willing to sacrifice so that I could get into the delicious goodness of this unopened can.

Fortunately, no knife had to give up its usefulness in order to satisfy my craving. Instead, I went to my trusty toolbox and found the biggest screwdriver I had and the hammer. I rushed back into the kitchen, in zestful anticipation of the fluffy little pillows of goodness that where mere millimeters away from me.

I placed the screwdriver on top of the can and whacked it as hard as I could, with the hammer!  😭   Defeat struck once again. All my effort succeeded in doing was squishing the edge of the can! But I was not about to give up!

I went back to the toolbox and found a smaller, sharper, screwdriver and rushed back into the kitchen. Confident that I was smarter than the can, I place the new screwdriver on the can and gently tapped it with the hammer. SUCCESS!!! A small puncture appeared and I was overjoyed!!! I continued to make more small holes, but by this time, tomato sauce was shooting out with every strike of the hammer. Then the top of the can started to bend and the screwdriver kept slipping back into the previous hole.

But again, I was not going to give up! I inspected the small slit that I had managed to make and determined that if I could bend the lid of the can I would finally be able to gain victory over this dreaded foe! I tried bending the lid with the screwdriver (both little and big) but there was nothing to provide resistance, so all I ended up with was tomato sauce covered screwdrivers.

So it was back to the toolbox, one last time, for a pair of channel locks, then back to the kitchen to attack this villainous can with vigor! I clamped on to the metal beast and pulled and twisted at it, as if my life depended on getting it to release its delicious contents.

The picture tells the rest of the story. LOL Dinner

 So here’s my point:

Sometimes there are things that happen in our lives that seem to have no purpose and are just happening to make our lives a little more miserable. BUT…if we keep in mind that…

“…all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” {Romans 8:28 NKJV}

…then we can gain a positive perspective and turn those miserable things into a story that points to the goodness of GOD, and HIS faithfulness to bring us through.

Nothing is too hard for GOD…

“‘Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. There is nothing too hard for You.” {Jeremiah 32:17 NKJV}

Nothing is so small that HE doesn’t notice it…

“Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.” {Luke 12:27 NKJV}

Everything that happens can point to HIM when we give HIM the praise. Even if it’s just a can of ravioli that won’t open. 🙂

I pray you have a blessed day…and know that HE is with you…in all things!

Gaining strength though our fellowship. 

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Feature photo by ff

3 thoughts on “Don’t even ask…part 2

Leave a Reply

