“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” {James 1:5 NKJV}

WordsWisdomI have, sitting on my desk, a book: Words of Wisdom. I haven’t looked at it in years. I thought I might use it, when writing HIS blog…you know…throw in a few profound quotes every once in a while. Well…this is the first time I’ve even picked up this book, much less thumbed through it to find anything wise or profound!

I’m sure it’s full of really good stuff like this little gem that I just found…

“Continual cheerfulness is a sign of wisdom.” ~ A German Proverb

That’s not what they told me in my therapy sessions…but that’s another discussion!

The world is full of books and speakers and memes that spout all kinds of “wise” sayings. As a matter of fact…I used to have them stuck up all over the mirror, in my bathroom. I thought they would give me some kind of inspiration to have a better, happier life. “TODAY, I WILL BE HAPPIER THAN A BIRD WITH A FRENCH FRY!” As my fellowship friend would say…”Yeah…right…ok” LOLHISwisdom

I have tried a lot of self-help stuff…think positive thoughts…let the energy of the universe make good things happen…etc…but ya know what? Those things never delivered what they promised. I needed some REAL wisdom. And every time I tried to find it from the world, it always failed! AND I was always drawn back to the place where wisdom is abundant and free…my Bible.

It doesn’t always tell me what I’d like to hear, but it always tells me what I need to hear. Sometimes it tells me things that I don’t understand, and that is where today’s verse comes in.  GOD wants us to know what HE is telling us.

“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.” {James 1:5-6 NKJV}

When ff and I discussed the verse in James, it went like this:

Me: “This is a good verse to keep in front of me all the time. I often forget to ask for wisdom. The next verse says to ask in faith without wavering. I have absolute faith that GOD will give the wisdom. I only need ask.”

ff: “HE provides to all in abundance and without prejudice. HE wants to give and take care of us.”

Me: “I’m so very glad HE does!!”

ff: “me too”

If you don’t think you understand what GOD is saying to you, ask HIM for wisdom. If you’re reading your Bible and don’t understand what it means, ask HIM for wisdom. HE will give it…if you will let HIM!

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Leave a Reply

