I always chuckle when people complain about how hot it is here. I think to myself…”What do you expect? You live in the Southeast United States! It gets hot here EVERY summer! Did you expect this year to be different???” LOL!

The temperature, which is displayed on a message board where I work, has been over 100° almost every day, for the past three weeks…and that’s AFTER 6:00 o’clock in the evening! Yeah…it’s hot 😰 ☀️ ☀️

Winter Wonder--CSYI just thought I’d stick this in and maybe  cool things down a little! Or at least give the illusion of cool…

The funny thing is…in December and January, the same people who have been complaining about how hot it is now, will then be complaining about how cold it is…and by cold I mean in the 30’s and 40’s…lol

My favorite seasons are Spring and Fall, and I enjoy all 3 days of each that we get here!!!!

We are a fickle people (ff may laugh at me for using that word…lol!) But it’s true. We have a hard time being content in our circumstances…especially those that are out of our control, like the weather. Sure, we could move somewhere else, but the truth is, there’s going to be something there that we will find to be discontent about, also.

The same holds true when we are discontent with ourselves. We complain about this thing or that thing and then think that if we move somewhere else, things will be better. But we have to realize that wherever we go…there we are.

Let me make that a little more personal…

Wherever I go…there I am!

I can’t run away from my discontent. I have to either do something about it, when I can, or decide to be content with it.

Paul wrote to the church in Philippi, saying…

“Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:” {Philippians 4:11 NKJV}

This is a lesson that I finally learned…just recently. The thing I could change…my physical condition…I did. My mental health has been helped by professionals and by friends who gave wise counsel. And my happiness…well that was the biggest discontentment I had.

It wasn’t until I finally gave up my selfish will and accepted GOD’s grace as being enough for me that I understood HE was only allowing (or not allowing) things to happen in my life because they were and are what’s best for me and keep me in close fellowship with HIM…that is when I learned to be content.

My fellowship friend has often told me that GOD wants to take care of me…HE wants to love me. “Just follow the path and be happy with it.”

In GOD’s love, we can be content. Sure…there are still going to be times when it’s too hot or too cold…but even in those times, I can be content, knowing my FATHER is taking care of me.

HE wants to take care of you, but you have to let HIM…that is the lesson I learned.

Please know that I understand that some things are seemingly impossible to overcome. I am not making light of any hardship that anyone has. I know it took me decades to finally realize that I was standing in the way of what GOD wanted to do for me. I also understand that some things require more than just a “just change your mind” solution. Seek help if you can’t do it yourself. GOD gave many people the gift of helping others and there is no shame in asking for their help. I have sat through many therapy sessions and been on medication for my own mental health. And GOD was faithful to deliver me from that very dark place…and HE can do that for you, too.

I’ve gotten very wordy this morning, but make not apology for it. GOD has brought me through so much and I needed for you to know that HE will do it for you also…you just have to let HIM. I am thankful and praise HIM every day for what HE’s done for me!!!!

I want to leave you with this thought from me…to you…

“I thank my God upon every remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine making request for you all with joy, for your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now,” {Philippians 1:3-5 NKJV}

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Feature photo by ff (enhanced)…photo insert by CLaSY (enhanced)

4 thoughts on “The heat is on…

  1. Your post today brings to mind a message from the late E.V. Hill from Ps 55:6, ” ‘Oh, that I had wings like a dove; then I would fly away and rest!’ …The trouble with that thinking is wherever you go, you will be there too! And where two or three are gathered together there will be mess.” I appreciate the way you gently put the same idea. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you…I hope that I will always keep my mind and heart open to what HE has inspired me to write. I really do understand what goes through a person’s mind when trying to change. The thing that made me the most angry was when people would say…”Just change your mind.” It’s a change of heart, not a change of mind…and that can be hard to understand and do. But HE is faithful to do what HE says HE will do. I am proof of that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, as always, for the reminders that HE is our living GOD and will protect us despite ourselves. With suicides and general violence on the rise, I truly wish more could read this post and understand that HE will support us as we endure the hard times of the life HE gives us. HE does not cause them but does carry us through them. The post and comments made three things (two religious, one saying) come to mind:
    The Prayer of Serenity and Footprints in the Sand. Plus, “keep doing what you did and keep getting what you got”. I have no idea who authored that but no truer words have been spoken.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

