“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”” {Psalm 91:1-2 NKJV}

When I was growing ,up my Grandma took us to church…and I don’t mean just for Sunday School…we were in the church every time the church doors were open!

I can still clearly see the vestibule of our little church. A long, chrome rod, with a shelf on top for a person to lay his or her Bible on, while they were hanging up their coat, then hanging the coats of all the children. It was a crowed little place, but filled with anticipation for what was to come in the sanctuary.

Sanctuary!!!!  What a beautiful word!! One definition that Dictionary.com gives is:

any place of refuge

The sanctuary of our church was a not too large room, filled with metal folding chairs. The floor was covered with a red carpet and high above, the twenty-foot Stainded Glass--CLaSYceiling was painted white and filled with spidery cracks that showed the building’s age. I can still see the beautiful stained glass windows, that often distracted me during the service. I never ceased to be fascinated by all the pieces of colored glass that were skillfully molded together to create scenes that reminded me of the glory of GOD.

The sanctuary was a bright, beautiful place where I felt safe. A place where I could fellowship with GOD, singing hymns from the old Blue Hymn book. Amazing Grace, In The Garden, and The Old Rugged Cross are songs that still echo in my soul.

The old church is almost 700 miles away now, and I’m not even sure if it’s still there. But in the years that have passed, I’ve learned that my sanctuary, my refuge is not a building, but a PERSON. HE is that secret place where I can dwell in safety and know that HE is my refuge and my fortress. HE is my sanctuary. There is no better place to be than abiding under HIS shadow. HE goes with me everywhere I go. I am never alone because HE is always with me.

“Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the LORD your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.”” {Deuteronomy 31:6 NKJV}

Sometimes I may feel lonely, but never alone. This is why our fellowship is so important. When HE allows me to share HIS Word with you, I am reminded that I am not a lone. That HE is my sanctuary…and HE can be yours also.

If you want to be encouraged, please listen to Kari Jobe’s I Am Not Alone

Daily Prompt: Sanctuary 

Gaining strength though our fellowship. 

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Picture insert by CLaSY
One thought on “I am not alone…

  1. Very good. I am glad you have really learned the difference between alone and lonely. Knowing you are not alone will carry you forever; through the lonely times.

    You do know that I cannot “Like” any Posts because I am not a blogger, correct?

    On Mon, Jul 25, 2016 at 10:37 PM, It Is Still Real wrote:

    > Emissary posted: “”He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High > Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, “He > is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”” {Psalm 91:1-2 > NKJV} When I was growing, up my Grandma took us to chu” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

