If you are reading these words…right now…then you love yourself!!

“‘And you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’ This is the first commandment.” {Mark 12:30 NKJV}

This is the Daily Bible Verse that my fellowship friend sent me a few days ago and me, being me, thought…I know there’s more to this…

And there is…

“And the second, like it, is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.‘ There is no other commandment greater than these.”” {Mark 12:31 NKJV}

The two verses are companions…inseparable. It’s the second verse that I want to focus on for a moment…but remember…the two go together.

What if I don’t love myself? Let’s talk about that for a minute…

Love is a tricky word because we speakers of English have given it many different meanings. If I say, “I would love to have a Spiderlily plant!” does that mean the same as, “I love my children”? I don’t think so…I would not die for a flower, but I would die for my children.

I did a little research on the word “love” in this verse. Thayer’s Greek Lexicon states that the phrase “You shall love” can be translated to mean:

to have a preference for, wish well to, regard the welfare of”

I’m not trying to diminish the meaning of the word, but from my own experiences I understand that it’s hard for some to say, “I love myself.” But the truth is, if you wake up in the morning and do something for yourself…bathe, eat, drink, go to work, walk to the couch, breathe…then you must have some love for yourself. You may not like yourself, but there is some love there. It’s the kind of love that this verse is talking about. It’s still love.

Consider what Paul wrote to the Ephesians:

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” {Ephesians 2:10 NKJV}

ff has reminded me that GOD doesn’t make trash (or words to the effect). I am HIS creation, and worth loving.

“So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.” {Genesis 1:27 NKJV}

I have no business not loving myself!!! I may not like myself. I can be unhappy with who I am and should work to change that, but I have to love me.

To my Christian friends, I would say, “If I love GOD then I have to love myself.”

“…for if we don’t love people we can see, how can we love God, whom we cannot see?” {1 John 4:20 NLT}

And to those friends who have not accepted JESUS as their SAVIOR…I would say…HE doesn’t make trash!!! GOD loves you and wants only the best for you.

“The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.” {2 Peter 3:9 NLT} Read: “Not Punishment”

Get to know GOD and in the knowing get to know yourself and who HE created you to be.

My dear friends, you are still living, so you still have love. It doesn’t have to be an overwhelming feeling. And if you start giving love away, the love for yourself will begin to grow.

Love GOD…Love everyone else (including yourself)

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photo by ff (slightly enhanced)

Daily Prompt: Punishment

4 thoughts on “Love yourself…

  1. A good post, a good reminder to many of us.

    I think it is important to remember that forgiving yourself is an important part of loving yourself; you might be able to forgive another person for even a grievous offense against you, but it is often harder to forgive the person you look at in the mirror.

    Failing to forgive, and thus love, yourself is denying the work done on the cross by Christ. The forgiveness is there. Reaching out and accepting it is the very first step in loving yourself as God loves you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Growing up, I would internalize classmates getting angry with me, not liking me or most any disapproval. Without a supportive family environment I developed a genuine self-loathing by Jr. High, acting out invisibly on the outside, but well on my way to ulcers. God saw it all. Eventually Jesus’ patient love convinced me He loves me no matter what… Being human in this busy, confusing world, isn’t genuinely loving Him above all else is a process?

    Like

Leave a Reply

