Grama“the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things– that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.” {Titus 2:3-5 NKJV}

My Grandma…the words don’t want to come…

My Grandma left me many things. She left me with the knowledge of how to cook, sew, and wash the dishes the RIGHT way 🙂 She left her love of gardening with me and her spirit of serving others. She left me with a love for reading and supplied that love with many books.

The Oz books are the most prized possession she left me…which may sound odd because she left me her Bible also. But it’s the Oz books that I love the most. The reason I have such a love for these books is because they remind me of her and my Dad (who read every single one of them to me). And when I’m reminded of her…then I remember all of the lessons she taught me. Life lessons, to be sure, but the most important lesson of all…how to be a Godly woman. My Grandma lived the Titus verses and what she left behind, when she went to be with her SAVIOR, was a woman who loves GOD more than anything.

My constant prayer is that I will leave my children and grandchildren the same things she left me. A love for GOD that outweighs any earthly pleasure, a desire to serve others and do whatever it takes for them to come to know my SAVIOR as their own, and yes…the collection of Oz books that will hopefully be the same reminder to them as they are to me 🙂

I looked in her Bible this evening and found this written in it. I’ll leave you with the verses Grandma left behind…Verses

“Blessed be the LORD, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications. The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.” {Psalm 28:6-7 KJV}

“Order my steps in thy word: and let not any iniquity have dominion over me.” {Psalm 119:133 KJV}

“Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits:” {Click here for the entire Psalm}

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Discover Challenge: The Things We Leave Behind

4 thoughts on “What she left behind…

    1. I would edit, but I don’t know what word you wanted instead of Kama…lol I think it should stay as it is just to give others something to cock their heads and say, “Huh?” to… LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

