“Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves.” {Matthew 7:15 NKJV}

My fellowship friend and I have been discussing the post Sometimes we run…in particular, the verse:

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.” {1 Peter 5:8 NKJV}

ff noted that many people see the devil’s work in the big evil things, but are blind to the small things that he does that lead to the decline of our morality (paraphrased).

It’s easy to see the evil when a plane purposely crashes into a building, but do we see the evil in not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign? It is the law and we are supposed to obey the law. {1 Peter 2:13 KJV}

It’s easy to see the evil when a person comes into a store and points a gun at your face and tell you to give all the money. But do you see the evil in the man (or woman) wearing a suit, standing behind the pulpit telling you that all you have to do to be with GOD is be good, think positive thoughts, and support the church. {John 6:47 KJV}

The deceiver has lulled humanity into a false sense of eternal security. Telling us that we, of ourselves, can be good enough. The lies he tells make us believe that we don’t need a SAVIOR because we really aren’t that bad. If you haven’t killed anyone, then you’re a good person, but the Bible says:

“For whoever shall keep the whole law, and yet stumble in one point, he is guilty of all.” {James 2:10 NKJV}

My dear friends, don’t be fooled by the father of lies {John 8:44 NKJV}. One sin, one transgression, one wrong act is just as bad as any other. Whether you cheat on your taxes or hate your parents…it’s all the same to GOD. Sin is sin, and we will never be good enough to cleanse ourselves from it.

“For all of us have become like one who is unclean,And all our righteous deeds are like a filthy garment;…” {Isaiah 64:6 NASB}

But thank GOD for the TRUTH that can make us clean. The TRUTH that can give us real peace.

Jesus said: “…”I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” {John 14:6 NKJV}

“The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” {John 10:10 NKJV}

 

No…it’s not the nightmare that scares me. It’s the evil thing, made to look pretty and good and right…or just not SO bad…that’s what scares me.

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photo by Channen M.Sallee (enhanced)

 

Daily Prompt: Nightmare

6 thoughts on “It’s not the nightmare that scares me…

  1. Well written message that makes me fear for loved ones – the ones that consider me too radical, too intense, so “heavenly minded I’m no earthly good.” Even if they were remotely correct, I’d rather have my relationship with Jesus than the liberty they think they have. Oh for the day they realize they have both. Another good post!

    Like

    1. AMEN! I was just saying to my fellowship friend, how liberating it is to know and hear HIM. I wish I had the words to let others know that there is Freedom in JESUS. Perhaps one day HE will allow me…or someone to give the words that will break through the veil of lies that has covered too many people. I will pray for your loved ones, that GOD will reveal HIS freedom to them 🙂

      Like

    2. I have had similar thoughts. You worded them much better. Emissary has other posts that address your comments. Unfortunately I am not very good with titles but I am sure they can be found or provided to you. Basically they address the difference and need to live spiritually verse worldly. Anyway, I am with you, I will take Jesus over any worldly relationship and think we should have both, just do them the correct way.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nightmare may be scary but it is virtual. The real black sheep in this world could be scarier than most of the nightmares. A beautiful clarity of thought in above verses. A nice read.

    Like

  3. Reading your examples of the things we do, and maybe not the correct way, made integrity come to mind. If we live with integrity based on the Bible we should have a relatively easy path to doing what is correct, don’t you think? During my work career I made the statement “integrity matters” many many time and it seems to fit here, too. Thank you for the excellent expression of thought.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

