“Physical training is good, but training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.” {1 Timothy 4:8 NLT}

When my fellowship friend sent me this verse, the first thing I thought of was how we both workout. ff is the one who encouraged me to begin an exercise program and we occasionally “report” to each other on how our training is going. (We fellowship about exercise too 🙂 )

Having a fit body is important…

“Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? If anyone defiles the temple of God, God will destroy him. For the temple of God is holy, which temple you are.” {1 Corinthians 3:16-17 NKJV}

…but it’s not THE most important thing.

For me, it wasn’t until I put Godliness FIRST that I began to take an interest in making HIS creation more fit as well.

Being a person who is healthy in all aspects of life–spiritual, mental, and physical–is important. When I got my priorities straightened out, getting the spiritual part of me healthy first, the mental and physical parts of my life became more manageable.

“…promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.”

Realizing that GOD and HIS calling come first has made this part of the verse very real for me. Through HIS Word, HIS calling, wise counsel, and our fellowship, I am beginning to experience life as it should be experienced.

Many things are changing for me since I began exercising the Spiritual part of my life. Even the way I talk to GOD has changed. I don’t even think it was a conscious decision, it was more of a “letting go.” GOD knows what I need and what I want and I don’t have to keep throwing it out there, even if I pretend that I’m asking HIM to give it to me “if it is HIS will.” It’s more important that I do what HE wants. Instead of begging for the things I want, I now talk to HIM about what HE wants.

“…For your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him.” {Matthew 6:8 NKJV}

Through the sharing of a daily Bible verses with ff and reading many more verses as I prepare HIS blog, I have become more Spiritually fit. And, I know this Spiritual training is going to have to be continuous…just like getting my body physically fit. If I quit working out, I would very quickly revert to my old, unhealthy state. It’s the same with my Spiritual fitness. It’s not a fad or a one time fix…it is a change in how I live everyday. It has to become my style of life.

My prayer is that we all begin a Spiritual fitness program so that we can experience the promise of “benefits in this life and in the life to come.”

We will literally be…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photo by Hattie (enhanced)
 
2 thoughts on “I am alive! 

Leave a Reply

