“For indeed, those who are far from You shall perish; You have destroyed all those who desert You for harlotry. ” {Psalm 73:27 NKJV}

Desert or desert…huh? Let’s throw dessert in the mix…just for fun!!!

Ya gotta love the English language 🙂

For instance…right now my mind is like a desert…my thoughts have decided to desert me.

 I can hear my fellowship friend’s voice in my head, “Stop making things complicated.”

I don’t normally like to lead off with a verse that is so harsh. As a matter of fact, I originally surrounded this verse with the ones that come before and after …to soften the blow of what this verse says. I don’t know about you, but the words “perish” and “destroyed” don’t leave me all fuzzy-feel good.

But sometimes the harsh truth is what is needed for me to understand Who GOD is.

When things would get difficult and weren’t going the way I thought they should, I had a tendency to go A.W.O.L. from GOD. I would desert HIM. But HE never moved…

“And the LORD, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.”” {Deuteronomy 31:8 NKJV}

I was always the one who ran away, leaving HIM in the distance, thinking that something or someone else was going to do better or make me feel better about myself.

When I was far away from GOD, the joy of life perished…it didn’t get better doing things my way, living a worldly lifestyle, trying to please the flesh instead of following GOD’s path. In truth, the things I did to make myself feel better were actually sucking the life out of me. I was sick all the time, telling lies to cover-up the things I had done, hurting people who loved me. Yeah…I was perishing.

And when I got to the point where I deserted GOD and began to idolize what I was doing…making it more important than anything else or anyone else…I was destroyed. I took myself to the lowest point possible (for me), short of death.

That’s when today’s verse became true to me. It became the harsh reality of what I was doing to myself when I deserted GOD.

So…now is the appropriate time to tell you how GOD reminded me of Who HE is.

“My flesh and my heart fail; But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. … But it is good for me to draw near to God; I have put my trust in the Lord GOD, That I may declare all Your works.” {Psalm 73:26, 28 NKJV}

The upside to my story is…I had accepted Jesus as my Savior a long time ago. HE never let me forget that HE was there…waiting for me. Even when I turned away from HIM, HE was still in my mind…dwelling in my heart…I was that one sheep that went astray and HE was the Shepherd Who came looking for me {Matthew 18:12 NKJV}.

I thank GOD every day for HIS mercy and grace. I thank HIM for the people HE has put into my life, people who cared enough to be real with me…people who were near to HIM and counselled me…people who I can fellowship with and stay “near to God…”

If you haven’t given your life to the Only One Who can save it…I pray that you will. Ask me how and I can show you.

If you have surrendered your life to Christ, but have gone A.W.O.L….don’t give up! Remind yourself of HIS promises, of HIS goodness. Examine your life and see if you are perishing and on the verge of being destroyed. If you are…remember this:

“Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.” {Psalm 56:3 NKJV}

“God is faithful, by whom ye were called unto the fellowship of his Son Jesus Christ our Lord.” {1 Corinthians 1:9 KJV}

Sometimes we need to be reminded of the truth…turning away from GOD will make you perish…and putting anything before HIM will cause your destruction.

Join us as we are…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Daily prompt: desert

One thought on “dih-zurt’

Leave a Reply

