“Be still, and know that I am God:…” {Psalm 46:10 KJV}

Today, after I finished my morning workout, I sat still for a moment…and then I heard it…rain. Soft droplets coming down to water the thirsty grass, seeping into the ground to replenish the reservoirs of the towering trees. I arose and went outside to listen to the gentle shower.

Be still…

I sat in my chair, under the shelter of the patio roof and listened. The intensity of the rain increased, and with its increase I nestled deeper into thought. The soothing effects of the rain falling upon the leaves had taken me to a quieter place. A place with no thoughts of the work I needed to accomplish today, no thoughts of family turmoil, no thoughts of broken relationships.

Be still…

None of the thoughts that had been troubling my mind for many days remained…the rain had brought thoughts of peace…and in that peace, I was free to listen. I closed my eyes, and in my solitude, I listened. Not with my ears, but with my mind. Images began passing in front of my mind’s eye…River Rocksimages of the peace and beauty only GOD can create. Images of green layers on the edge of the forest…images of peaceful water lapping over the smooth river stones..images of a gentle hand taking mine and reminding me that my heart was kind and gentle. Peaceful thoughts that brought to my mind HIS Word, “…for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.” {Luke 6:45 KJV}

Be still…

As I sat, listening to HIS peace, I thought about what my fellowship friend had said to me about this verse in Luke. ff said, “Good things come from good origins.” Jesus said…

Pink flower-FF“For a good tree does not bear bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit. “For every tree is known by its own fruit. For men do not gather figs from thorns, nor do they gather grapes from a bramble bush. “A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.” {Luke 6:43-45 NKJV}

Be still…

I wrote this today, because I needed to be still and remember that life is not all bad. GOD has been speaking to me today…through HIS Word, through the things my ff tells me, through small events…little, good things that I was able to help with today, and lots of other days. So today I was still and was assured that my GOD sees my heart and its desire to produce good fruit…for HIM.

Do you need to be still today? Do you need to let HIM remind you of the good fruit that your heart is producing? My ff reminded me that I don’t need to always be looking for big events, but I do need to see the many little things that GOD enables me (and you) to do. My friends…together, all of our little things, that we do for HIM, will be multiplied while we are…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 Flower photo by ff 
3 thoughts on “Be Still..

Leave a Reply

