“Pray without ceasing.” {1 Thessalonians 5:17 KJV}

This is, unequivocally, my favorite verse in the Bible. Three words that speak volumes. Three words that tell me I need to be in continual communication with GOD. Three easy words…one simple instruction…

When it comes to praying, my G-baby is the example for me! I’m so proud that her parents are raising her to talk to GOD…to think about GOD.

At meal time, she insists on all of us holding hands while we thank GOD for our food. Her short prayer of, “Thank you GOD, for our food. Amen!” is simple and direct. She is talking to GOD about that moment. What a simplistic lesson she is teaching me.

Before I do anything, I should talk to GOD. Talk to HIM about that thing and don’t get bogged down with trying to cram everything that is going on around me into a prayer, every time I speak to HIM.

There is a time for in-depth prayers, and I should set aside time to really have a conversation with GOD…each day! In Matthew 6, Jesus said, “…when you pray, go away by yourself, shut the door behind you, and pray to your Father in private…” To me, HE is saying that there must be an extensive time of prayer. A time when I speak to HIM about all my concerns AND praise HIM for HIS blessings.

But as I go about the business of the day, I need only talk to HIM about that moment. I feel this includes decisions that present themselves to me, events that are brought to my attention, people that I come in contact with…each of these things can be a short, direct prayer…and then I can continue with my day. If I’ve asked for guidance, I should watch for HIS answer. If I pray about an event or a person, I should remember to talk to HIM more about it later, in my private time with HIM.

So…I just wanted to share how GOD has instructed me to pray. This may not be the way HE has asked you to pray, and it doesn’t have to be. We each pray in our own ways. But PRAY we must!!! Keep GOD in your mind all the time…talk to HIM often…and share what HE has done so that we will all be…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Leave a Reply

