It Was The First Time…

College Grad 2015-KS
College Graduation 2015

It was the first time, but it won’t be the last. After 7 long years of taking college courses, adding and dropping a couple of different majors along the way, I finally graduated from college with a BS in Elementary Education. My dream, since the third grade, was to become a teacher. I thought I was going to teach all the little babies how to become “productive members of society” (a common phrase heard among teachers of Social Studies). But, as it so often happens in life, my dreams changed. I fell in love with the library!!!

As a college student, I worked in the campus library almost all seven years of my college career (yes…when you go to school that long, I consider it a career…lol). I was hired as a full time staff member, at the library, two years before I graduated (hence the lengthy college career). I did my student teaching (or Internship as it is now called?) and quickly discovered that teaching was not for me. The library had stolen my heart. 

After I graduated with my BS, I decided to get a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science (which I am currently working on). So, in 2017, I will once again graduate from college 🙂 I am seriously considering finishing my degree in English after this graduation. I’m only one Spanish class away from earning that degree and since I’m already at school every day…So I will get to graduate for a third time.

After that, I may just continue my education, and become a true Life Long Learner!!!

I just want to say to anyone who thinks they are too old to go back to school…it’s NEVER TOO LATE!!! I was in my fourth decade of living when I went back to school. I’m very glad I did.

 

I also wanted to add that I never graduated from high school…lol

I did get my GED the year before I entered college. I only tell you that because I want you to dream BIG!!! Don’t ever think your dreams can’t come true. I’m living proof that they can 🙂

 

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Photo by Keith S.

The Challenge: Opening Line

One thought on “It Was The First Time…

  1. I am truly a lifelong student. College for 33 years with many majors and over 300 hours. I have taken class to enhance my first calling and have my last major which seems to be leading to a new calling. I graduate in Dec. GOD always provides us the knowledge for the purpose HE calls us to, even when the callings change to very different areas. I am proof that a degree is not required but knowledge of GOD and HIS purpose for us is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

