The first thing I thought of when I read this verse was “walking on the fence.”

“Adulterers, do you not know that friendship with the world means hostility toward God? So whoever decides to be the world’s friend makes himself God’s enemy.” {James 4:4 NET}

 

There is an obvious dividing line (sorry…not a fine line) that separates us from living a life that is pleasing to GOD and a life that is pleasing to our own selves.

Let’s call that dividing line a fence. Can you picture it? Can you see where you are in relation to that fence?…

I often see myself, walking right on top of the fence, not totally willing to be on one side or the other. And there are times when I “lose my balance” and fall off onto the wrong side of the fence…what a beautifully worded metaphor for saying “I chose to sin!!”

So yeah…I walk the fence more often than I should. I certainly don’t take pride in admitting that, but I have to be totally honest…with you and myself.

As I think about this, some questions come to mind…

Can I have one foot on either side of the fence?

Well, today’s verse tell me no! And Jesus said, “”No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other; you will be devoted to one and despise the other…”” {Matthew 6: 24 NLT}

Why do I keep walking on the fence?

My common sense says just move farther away from the fence! Move away from the temptation to walk on top and then blame it on my lack of balance when I sometimes fall off and get on the “world” side. Just GET AWAY FROM THE FENCE!

Jesus said: “Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” {Matthew 26:41 KJV}

Well…there ya go. Stay focused on GOD, talk to and about HIM…OFTEN.

As today’s verse says…a friend of the world is an enemy of GOD. That is not to say that I should seclude myself from the world…how will they know about GOD if I’m not in the world.

“How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher?” {Romans 10:14 NKJV}

But being in the world is different than being a friend of the world. I’m not going to get into a word study this time (even though I really want to!!). If you want to know more about who your true friends should be, look here.

Bottom line…who do you want to be friends with? GOD or the world? I hope it’s GOD. I also hope that we can help each other move away from the fence that is tempting us to put our feet on the wrong side. I do hope that we are…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Leave a Reply

