My fellowship friend and I were having a discussion about  Deuteronomy 30:15-20 (NKJV). As usual, I was making it more difficult than it needed to be.

The concept of these verses is very simple: Do this…get that!

If I put my hand in a flame, I will get burned. If I hear a puppy bark, I will smile :)…

Every action has a reaction.  Force, of any kind, always comes in pairs. (I’m not sciencey but I do know how to use Google! lol) Our lives are full of these pairs, these if-then scenarios. We make choices and live with the outcome.

I used to say, “I wish someone would just tell me what to do!!!” DUH!!! Some ONE did!! GOD made it simple. HE had people write down the directions and was kind enough to have it all bound up into one convenient Book. GOD has given us direction. We do not need to make this journey of life alone or without guidance.

Would you agree that people of the 21st Century don’t want to be told what to do or how to do it? If you read Deuteronomy 30:15-20, you will see that GOD is giving HIS people a choice. It’s simply obvious that GOD WANTS to bless us.

I asked my ff how I could explain these “if-then” concepts without making them sound negative. How could I explain that it is a blessing, not a burden, to follow HIS path? ff responded by asking me, “What is negative about rules and the blessings that come from them?”

Here is ff’s story of how following GOD’s path “negatively” affected him 🙂

“I guess the most negative story you could tell from me is how I prayed and hoped to follow the path GOD wanted. I accepted the hard times believing that I was following GOD’s plan, that HE protected and comforted me, and that it would all workout on HIS timing not mine. Then I had to face the consequences of retiring at 53-years-old with an increase in income and finding only 95% of what I described to my brother as my “dream retirement home.” It is hard living the difficulties of my decision to try to follow GOD’s “if” requirements in Deuteronomy 30:15-20, but “then” I might have had my own path to something I really do not want to consider.
So now, tell the ignorant believer in rules, laws, and guides what the issue is again?”

What a testimony!!!!

Will you let yourself “suffer” the consequences of following the will of GOD?

 

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Photo by ff (enhanced)

 

Leave a Reply

