Not Even Close!!!!

Or am I?

My fellowship friend and I were discussing one of the Daily Bible Verses that he shares with me. The discussion was on Psalm 119:1-2.

I made the statement: “He knows we are human and will never NEVER be perfect, or totally obedient.”

ff replied, “One thing we differ on is that man should and can live perfect.”

As I pondered what my ff said, it occurred to me that what he said can be true. We can be perfect, but none of us are willing to be. The flesh is a powerful tempter…

I just wanted to share a few things that the Bible says about being perfect…

In the Old Testament:

“Thou shalt be perfect with the LORD thy God.” {Deuteronomy 18:13 KJV}

The Hebrew meaning of the word perfect is: whole, sound, healthful

According to the Hebrew definition, we can be perfect…if we obey every word of the Law. I don’t think anyone has ever done that. 😦

In the New Testament

Jesus said:

Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.” {Matthew 5:48 KJV (emphasis added)}

The Greek meaning of the word perfect is: brought to its end, finished

The word be is a FUTURE tense word. Meaning that it is something we should strive for.

The verse in Matthew also has to be taken in context. Jesus is talking about “love” In context, I think it may be possible to be perfect…it’s not that hard to love people…right?

I totally agreed with him, that man should live perfect. But, according to the Bible, we are not able to be perfect. If we were, our purpose HERE would be finished…life would come to an end and we would be taken to be with the Father.

But, I don’t think we can ever be perfect in the sense that we can live a life without sinning. This is what the Bible tells me.

 

Perfect-ScottJesus was the example that we are supposed to live up to, but because man was born into sin {Romans 5:12}  we have a sin nature. We don’t have to obey that nature, but if we break one law it’s the same as breaking them all. {James 2:10}

Thankfully!!! When we accept Jesus as our Savior, our sin is cleansed from us and God doesn’t remember them {Jeremiah 31:34}{Hebrews 10:17}

I think we should always strive to be like Jesus. And I should not say it’s okay to sin, simply because I’m human and it’s my nature. I must put on the whole armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18) so that I can resist my sinful nature.

That’s what we’re doing…right? Building up our armor so that we can BE perfect (in HIS presence) one day?

My perfection lies in HIM!

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Photos by ff (enhanced)

 

Leave a Reply

