“…How blessed are those whose actions are blameless, who obey the law of the LORD. How blessed are those who observe his rules, and seek him with all their heart,” {Psalm 119:1-2 NET}

The great commentator Matthew Henry said about these verses, that to walk in the way of the LORD is to…

“walk in his ways, not in the way of the world, or of our own hearts.”

I think there are many people out there, who call themselves Christians, who think they are doing all they need to do because they are “good people.”

These people don’t drink or smoke or cuss. They’ve never been to jail, and give their extra stuff to the needy. They don’t this and they don’t that, or do this and do that.

But do they really know what God wants them to do? Do I really know? (I hope so, because I don’t depend on my few good works to make me believe I’m what God wants me to be.)

Remember, sins of omission are just as grievous as those we commit. Look at who committed a sin of omission in the story of the Good Samaritan!

Read the whole story and then decide…”Which of these three do you think became a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of the robbers?”” {Luke 10:36 NET}

Doing good things is important, it is PART of walking in HIS way…

“Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works.” {James 2:18 KJV}

but do I worship God like He wants me to?

“But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him.”      {John 4:23 NKJV}

Do I honor Him in everything I do?

“in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”                {1 Thessalonians 5:18 NKJV}

Do I keep Him in my mind at all times?

“pray without ceasing,” {1 Thessalonians 5:17 NKJV}

Do I know the things He wants me to do? The Bible says,

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” {2 Timothy 2:15 KJV emphasis added}

 

I think the most important part of today’s main verse is the last statement: “seek him with the whole heart.”

God looks at our heart.

“For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” {Hebrews 4:12 NKJV}

God is not looking for perfection. He knows we are human and will never, NEVER be perfect. Even if people secluded themselves from temptation, they would be sinning (the sins of omission).

My fellowship friend pointed out that Jesus gave us the example in human form” of how to live the perfect life.

 “For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.” {Hebrews 4:15 NKJV emphasis added}

 

I have never stopped seeking God. I have a longing to be blessed. Not with material things, or praise, or even peace of mind (even though those things are part of God’s blessing). I just want to know my God, and be able to share that in some small (or big) way with others. To know that even one small thing I said or did lead someone to know my Savior…that would be my blessing.

My hope is to hear…

“…’Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:” {Matthew 25:34 NKJV}

I love GOD with all that I am. I know this to be true because even when I’ve turned away from HIM, HE always brings me back. HIS Word Is Still Real to me and I am…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

 

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Leave a Reply

