Just a thought…

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.” (Romans 1:16 KJV)

It just dawned on me that this verse could mean more than what I’ve always been taught. I have always been told that it means that I should not be ashamed to proclaim that I am a Christian. That whenever the opportunity allowed, I should share the gospel with others, without being embarrassed, and then the “power of God” would take over and do HIS work. (The second part of the verse is a whole other conversation). I do agree with this teaching…

But it just occurred to me that I can take this verse very personal. Consider this portion of today’s verse:

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ:”

I should not be ashamed to say that I don’t possess the power to save me. I shouldn’t be so proud that I am not willing to submit to the power of GOD to save my soul. My good works will not save me. Doing right, talking right, acting right, thinking right, will never give me eternal life with my Savior.

I have to rely on the “power of God” for redemption, for salvation,

 

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” {2 Corinthians 12:9 KJV}

Redeem:  liberate by payment of ransom (Strong’s Lexicon)

Salvation: “in an ethical sense, that which concludes to the soul’s safety” (Strong’s Lexicon)

 

Jesus was my Redeemer! I could not have paid that price myself.

“And every priest stands ministering daily and offering repeatedly the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. But this Man, after He had offered one sacrifice for sins forever, sat down at the right hand of God,” {Hebrews 10:11-12 NKJV}

 

God is not looking for the proud, strong, perfect person.

“Though the LORD is on high, Yet He regards the lowly; But the proud He knows from afar.” {Psalm 138:6 NKJV}

“When Jesus heard it, he saith unto them, They that are whole have no need of the physician, but they that are sick: I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” {Mark 2:17 KJV}

 

GOD does not want OR require that I save myself from an eternity separated from HIM.

“But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: That no flesh should glory in his presence.”{1 Corinthians 1:27-29 KJV}

 

I can never claim that I’m good enough or smart enough or strong enough to be in the presence of GOD. But, I can be wise enough to know that I cannot obtain salvation, and be with HIM, on my own merit.

I must be able to say:

I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ! 

 

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Photo by Anastacia

All scripture is courtesy of BlueLetterBible.org

Leave a Reply

