Do you want to live or have life?

“All the commandments which I command thee this day shall ye observe to do, that ye may live, and multiply, and go in and possess the land which the LORD sware unto your fathers. And thou shalt remember all the way which the LORD thy God led thee these forty years in the wilderness, to humble thee, and to prove thee, to know what was in thine heart, whether thou wouldest keep his commandments, or no. And he humbled thee, and suffered thee to hunger, and fed thee with manna, which thou knewest not, neither did thy fathers know; that he might make thee know that man doth not live by bread only, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of the LORD doth man live.”

Deuteronomy 8:1-3 KJV (Read the whole story to see what God was doing for HIS people)

The word “live” in this passage means to merely survive, to sustain human existence. It’s not referring to eternal life. The Law that God gave to Moses was not given for salvation, “Therefore by the deeds of the law there shall no flesh be justified in his sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin.” {Romans 3:20 KJV}

God gave the people of Israel the Law as a guideline for them to live a prosperous, healthy life so that they could possess the Promised Land (Deuteronomy 8:1).

Have you ever read all the Laws??? It’s a bit overwhelming. I mean really? I’m not supposed to eat bacon!!! (Deuteronomy 14:8) But the truth is, if I did follow the Mosaic Law, I would be a much healthier person.

(I’m getting off track…I got distracted by bacon!)

It all comes down to choices!

Our scripture goes on to say that God “tested” them by leading them through the wilderness (our current day trials?) “to know what was in [their] heart.”

Would they listen to Him?

Do I listen to Him? Do I know what He has said?

The Bible talks about men going daily into to the temple, to study and worship. (Act 2:46) Do I do that? Of course, I’m not speaking of a literal temple, (although we could all benefit from that), rather the temple of my spirit. Is the will of God in my thoughts daily?

More choices!

How will I know what God wants me to do unless I know what HE has said? Not just the Law, but the divine words, given by the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, to Peter and Paul and James…etc. Those words are the ones I need to know and APPLY to my daily life. Those are the words that “proceedeth out of the mouth of the LORD,” to keep me from giving in to temptations, and to be a witness to others, either by my words or my deeds.

It’s my choice!

 

I don’t want to just live, I want…No I need…LIFE.

Jesus said: “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. {10} The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have LIFE, and that they might have it more abundantly.” {John 10:9-10 KJV (emphasis added}

The kind of LIFE that Jesus is talking about is different than the life that God was offering the children of Israel.

This word “life” means:

“life real and genuine, a life active and vigorous, devoted to God, blessed, in the portion even in this world of those who put their trust in Christ, but after the resurrection to be consummated by new accessions (among them a more perfect body), and to last for ever.” (Strong’s Concordance)

 

How do I get that LIFE?

 

Paul wrote to the Hebrews and said:

“And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works: Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.” {Hebrews 10:24-25 KJV}

It’s a team/group effort. It is fellowship!

Solomon wrote in Proverbs:

“Where no counsel is, the people fall: but in the multitude of counsellors there is safety.”{Proverbs 11:14 KJV}

AND

“Ointment and perfume rejoice the heart: so doth the sweetness of a man’s friend by hearty counsel.”{Proverbs 27:9 KJV}

We (Christians) need to be talking to each other. Uplifting and supporting each other. Edifying each other with the Word of God, with our testimonies and with our actions.

The life that God offers and the life that Jesus offers are both Still Real! We can have a full and complete life…and it can begin right here as we are…

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

 

 

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Photo by ff (enhanced)
Leave a Reply

