Are you thirsty?

“I spread out my hands to You; My soul longs for You like a thirsty land. Selah” {Psalm 143:6 NKJV}

 

My fellowship friend said this about today’s verse: “My immediate thought is what you are doing, all of our needs, and the needs of the US and the World. But how many realize that HE is the quencher of the thirst we have? …it seems most look to earth to quench the thirst, not Heaven.”

The answer is to the question is obvious. TOO FEW realize HE is the quencher of our thirst.

Those that don’t feel parched or dry are the ones who have set their sights on the RIGHT things. Those are the people who know how to quench their thirst.[1][2][3]  They know how to live comfortably in whatever circumstances they are in.[4] This life, on earth, is temporary. The Bible says it is like a vapor.[5]

So if all this is just temporary, there is no point in putting so much stock in what I can obtain here, or what people think of me here. The way to do this is to change my thinking!

Ah!!! Easier said than done for some, or even most people. I have met very few people who are content with in their current position in life (My fellowship friend is one of those people). If I were going to be envious of anyone, it would be of those people.

Don’t you think it would be interesting to study those people, and make an inventory of what they have in their lives. Would I discover that they have a circle of people that they fellowship with; even if that circle has only two people? The Bible says that God will be in the midst of even such a small circle. [6]

I like the way the New King James Version translates the second part of the verse: “My soul longs for You…” My soul DOES long for God. I want to be able to feel complete because HE has quenched every thirst. I am finding that fellowship is a key component to quenching this “thirst” or longing for an intimate relationship with God.

When I have that RIGHT relationship with HIM, then I will not have to feel like I need to find satisfaction in the things of this earth. The apostle Paul had fellowship with many people and he told them that his needs were being met. (You really should read the entire fourth chapter of Philippians to see how Paul’s thirst was quenched.) His mind was set on Christ and he was DOING what God had called him to do. Is this the answer to quenching our thirst?[7]

The most comforting thing Paul told the Philippians was that “…my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”[8]

 God knows what we need [9] so there’s no need to worry. Worry never solved a problem.[10] David wrote, in the opening scripture, that he was submitting to God. “I stretch forth my hands unto thee…” My prayer is that I will be like David, and have that longing to let God quench my thirst and like Paul, find satisfaction through fellowship.

I’ve included the scripture that comes before this verse (Psalm 143:6) so that you can see the context in which David is writing. Can anyone else relate to what David says in these verses? I can! But then I have to look at what Paul wrote and what Jesus says, and know that I can overcome, that I don’t have to be thirsty. I AM finding strength in our fellowship.

{Psalm 143:1-5 NKJV}

“A Psalm of David. Hear my prayer, O LORD, Give ear to my supplications! In Your faithfulness answer me, And in Your righteousness. Do not enter into judgment with Your servant, For in Your sight no one living is righteous.

For the enemy has persecuted my soul; He has crushed my life to the ground; He has made me dwell in darkness, Like those who have long been dead. Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; My heart within me is distressed.

I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands.”

 

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Scripture References:

[1] {Psalm 62:10 NKJV}”{10} Do not trust in oppression, Nor vainly hope in robbery; If riches increase, Do not set your heart on them.”

[2] {Romans 12:16 NKJV}”{16} Be of the same mind toward one another. Do not set your mind on high things, but associate with the humble. Do not be wise in your own opinion.”

[3] {Colossians 3:2 NKJV}”{2} Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.”

[4] {Philippians 4:11 KJV}”{11} Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

[5] {James 4:14 KJV}”{14} Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”

[6] {Matthew 18:20 KJV}”{20} For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.”

[7] {Jas 1:22 KJV} {22} But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.

[8] {Phl 4:19 KJV} 19 But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

[9] {Luk 12:30 KJV} 30 For all these things do the nations of the world seek after: and your Father knoweth that ye have need of these things.

[10] {Luk 12:22, 25 KJV} {22} And he said unto his disciples, Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat; neither for the body, what ye shall put on. … {25} And which of you with taking thought can add to his stature one cubit?

All scriptures courtesy of BlueLetterBible.org

Photo by Channen M. Sallee (enhanced)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

