How many times have I forgotten about God?

{13} For my people have committed two evils; they have forsaken me the fountain of living waters, and hewed them out cisterns, broken cisterns, that can hold no water.”{Jeremiah 2:13 KJV}

It’s a question I don’t like to ask myself. I have always thought that because I was such a dedicated student of the Bible that there was no way I could forsake HIM. But there were times, when I was in such a state of despair, I wondered where HE was. I wondered why I couldn’t find happiness…wondered why I didn’t feel any joy in anything.

Do you know what I found the answer to be?

HE was there ALL the time. As it turns out, just being a student of the Bible does not mean that I have always been in right fellowship with God. It’s not enough to simply know the Word, and it is quite possible to move away from HIM even while reading the Bible.

In our scripture for today, God is speaking to Jeremiah about HIS people. The way I read it, God’s heart was broken because HIS people turned their backs on HIM. They got themselves mixed up with people who worshipped gods that they had made themselves. (Jeremiah 1:16).

So how did I get so far away from HIM? I don’t think it will surprise you when I say that I took myself away from God, away from fellowship with HIM and fellowship with other Christians, who would be edifying to my life.

I really like that word:  edify. This word is a verb…an action. It means to “uplift” (Dictionary.com) According to Strong’s Concordance, it is “the act of building up.” The Bible says, “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.” {Ephesians 4:29 KJV}

I was trying to fill up a “broken cistern.” Filling and refilling it with knowledge, but no action. I thought I knew what God wanted…actually I knew what God wanted and was unwilling to do it. Nothing gets done when I know what to do and don’t do it. I was isolating myself from the most important fellowships…God and edifying Christians. The people from Jeremiah’s time took themselves away from God, to follow something manmade…something that would only bring earthly rewards (satisfaction).

Christian fellowship is one of the most important ways to have a well that will not leak, and give us the assurance that we will not turn our backs on God. Look at the examples…the disciples had fellowship with Jesus…Paul had fellowship with Barnabas, and Silas, and Timothy…there are so many more.

The most important fellowship is with Jesus Christ, and His example shows us that we need to fellowship with each other. His example is Still Real for us today.

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Photo by Samantha May (enhanced)

Leave a Reply

