Too much of a good thing?

 

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”{Gal 6:9 KJV}

Sometimes I just want to sit on the porch, in a rocking chair, and watch the world go by! Does anyone else feel that way? Maybe I shouldn’t say this but, sometimes, I just get plain ole tired of being responsible and doing the right thing.

When I feel this way, it’s hard to get my mind fixed on God and what He has planned for me. I do my best to get myself out of the slump, but that never works… My friends…all the self-help, positive thinking books in the world are not going to get your mind focused where it should be. I’ve read quite a few of these types of books, and never gained the kind of attitude that they professed could be mine.

And how could I, when they kept telling me to focus on myself? I’m sorry, but that’s just ridiculous. I could tell myself all day long to be happy, but without a joy that dwells inside me, there was no happiness. There is no wanting to do good, because I just didn’t feel like it. I could not pull MYSELF out of the pit that I was in. Has anyone else been in this place?

This is what I discovered. When my mind was turned toward myself, instead of God, I didn’t have any joy. There was nothing to draw on, no well of goodness from which to dip and refresh myself. It wasn’t until I began a constant, Christian, fellowship that I was able to come out of that dark place and understand that God wanted me to do something. Not for myself, but for HIM!

My fellowship friend and I had recently had a conversation that included this verse. We were discussing the different roles that we have in our fellowship and how our fellowship contributes to HIS blog. My fellowship friend has been very supportive of the calling that God has given me and I was reminded that “HE is doing good things though us. You do and I support. Same project different roles. No one better or worse…” (ff).

I said, “I think that this verse, saying “let us not be weary,” is telling us that if we get tired of doing for God, it will be very easy for us to forget about Him. I don’t want to get weary…that’s why our fellowship, and HIS fellowship blog are so important.”

It’s easy to get tired of doing good, when you don’t have some kind of support. I want to leave you with this thought, about the support that fellowship brings:

{Exodus 17:11-12 KJV}

“{11} And it came to pass, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed: and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed. {12} But Moses’ hands were heavy; and they took a stone, and put it under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.” [blueletterbible.org]

Even the great Patriarch Moses needed a helping hand in order to do what God wanted him to do. Don’t let yourself get weary doing the good that God has called you to do. We are all called to do something for HIM…big or small…it is all important to HIM…it is all good. Let’s support one another through our fellowship.

 

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

 

One thought on “Don’t grow weary…

Leave a Reply

