What does it mean to be “ready?”

“{42} Watch therefore: for ye know not what hour your Lord doth come. {43} But know this, that if the goodman of the house had known in what watch the thief would come, he would have watched, and would not have suffered his house to be broken up. {44} Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of man cometh.” {Matthew 24:42-44 KJV} (blueletterbible.org)

“We must always have our hearts and minds in a righteous place. We know what is expected of us… so we must simply do what we know to do. Then we are ready when the Lord‘s time table says it is time.” (ff)

Jesus tells me to WATCH, but watch for what? He said:

“{4} …Take heed that no man deceive you. {5} For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many. {6} And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars: see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet. {7} For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places. {8} All these are the beginning of sorrows. {9} Then shall they deliver you up to be afflicted, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake. {10} And then shall many be offended, and shall betray one another, and shall hate one another. {11} And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many. {12} And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.” {Matthew 24:4-12 KJV} (blueletterbible.org emphasis added)

AND…

“{25} And there shall be signs in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars; and upon the earth distress of nations, with perplexity; the sea and the waves roaring; {26} Men’s hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken. {27} And then shall they see the Son of man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. {28} And when these things begin to come to pass, then look up, and lift up your heads; for your redemption draweth nigh.” {Luke 21:25-28 KJV} (blueletterbible.org emphasis added)

Misty Tree-Channen2
 

(Photo by Channen M. Sallee)

 

Have you seen any of these things happening? In the past? In your lifetime? I see them all the time. Christians being killed. False prophets (Jim Jones comes to mind). All the things that Jesus spoke of have happened or are happening now. Do you see them happening more often…more widely spread? (ff)

I do! It fills me with excitement, because I am anxious to be with Jesus. But, it also fills me with a bit a sorrow. There is still much work to be done. Am I doing my part? Have I done enough?

Nearly all the things that Jesus told us to watch for have happened, all except for Luke 21:20. “And when ye shall see Jerusalem compassed with armies, then know that the desolation thereof is nigh.

Jerusalem has been involved in wars before, but I think that this scripture is speaking about a global assault against this Holy City. Do you see that becoming a reality any time soon?

Do you keep up with the news? What do you think? Is the end very near?

My fellowship friend said, “I think most things will occur slow. Satan knows to work slow so humans can be lulled away. But I think we are in the latter stages.”

If Jesus’ return is coming soon, then I have to be sure that I am ready. How do I do that?

“We must be ready every day. We do not know and do not need to know the Lord‘s timing. It is His timing. We should always be ready for judgement, not only on the deathbed.” (ff)

John tells me, in 1 John 5:13, how I can know I’m ready.

“{13} These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.” (Read the whole story)

The book of Ephesians is a good book to read to know what God expects of those who want eternal life with Him.

I must study to know. “Always look up and be guided by the Spirit, but do not fear the second coming or judgement. Live a life to be proud of,” (ff) a life that God can look upon.

What I know, I must do. I must be watching and be ready…is it time to start looking up?

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

Featured Image by Hattie Ann Street Tobin

 

Leave a Reply

