The mighty hand of God!

Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time.

1 Peter 5:6

In part one, we talked about being humble. I think my fellowship friend said it best:

“OBSERVERS WILL SEE IT SO NO NEED TO SAY IT” 

Self-examination, in regards to my humility, must be made. And, am I really being humble, if I say I’m being humble? Enough about humility…we’ve already covered that.

We have seen that this verse tells us to be humble, but it also gives a specific position in which we are to be humble. “UNDER” It’s not enough for me to simply be humble. I have to be in a humble position under God in order to receive His reward.

There are a lot of humble people, but what is the reason for their humility?

So how does humility lead to being exalted? As a Christian, I shouldn’t seek after the praise of man, but rather the approval of God. Paul told the Colossians…

“{23} And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; {24} Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ.” {Colossians 3:23-24 KJV emphasis added} (blueletterbible.org)

God will reward me when I do things with the right attitude. He will exalt me “in due time” when I am obedient to His Word, to His calling. That exaltation or reward may never be here on earth or even in my lifetime. But why would I care about that? Jesus said:

“{19} Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: {20} But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal:” {Matthew 6:19-20 KJV} (blueletterbible.org)

When I die, I can’t take it with me! My goal is to be with God for eternity. I don’t even think I’m concerned with what rewards He has waiting for me in heaven. Isn’t being with Him reward enough?

Did He have to tell humans that there would be rewards in Heaven so that they would desire to go there? Do I need to be enticed by mansions and streets of gold? I have always said that I’d rather have a little house on a grassy hill than a mansion, when I get to heaven. I’m getting off track!!!

To be exalted by God could mean many different things. King David was exalted because God said he was “a man after [His] own heart” (Acts 13:22). It was a looooong time after David was dead that his ultimate exaltation was realized…”Of this man’s seed hath God according to his promise raised unto Israel a Saviour, Jesus:” (Acts 12:23) WOW! Almost 1,000 years between David and the birth of our Savior! How can I possibly justify any impatience for exaltation for the minuscule things I do???

David’s reward was great, but does being exalted have to be so magnificent? How has He already exalted me in small ways? How has He exalted you? Did He give me recognition that I never even knew about? Maybe!

Do you know who Zacchaeus was?

He was a small man, of low reputation…and he humbled himself before Jesus. How was he exalted? He got a song written about him! Thousands of Sunday School children have learned it and his name is sung out all over the world! All because he didn’t care about what people thought about him. He cared about what Jesus thought! (Luke 19:2-9)

My daily prayer is that God be exalted, not me. I want to be brought closer to God, to know what He wants me to do, how to live. Today, I have to be humble so that He can be exalted, and “in due time” HE will exalt me. It may be 1,000 years from now, but I’m okay with that.

God is the same today as He was thousands of years ago. He never changes and His promises are just as true today as they were when Peter wrote this passage. I only need to do my part: Humble myself under God’s hand. The rest will be taken care of by God.

 

Gaining strength though our fellowship.

“That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” {1 John 1:3 KJV}

 

Photo by ff
Leave a Reply

