Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Matthew 5:6

 

Ahhhh…the Beatitudes…have you ever wondered what that word means? If you break it down it makes sense:

BE: to exist or live (dictionary.com)

Attitude: manner, disposition, feeling, position, etc., with regard to a person or thing; tendency or orientation, especially of the mind: (dictionary.com)

So the Beatitudes are telling us to “live” in this “manner.” Jesus is saying, “Be like this!”

This verse has the word “do,” which is an action. It’s the only Beatitude that is an action. This manner of living is something I must continually be practicing.

Living a dynamic Spiritual life is the same as living a vibrant physical life. When I get hungry, I eat. When I get thirsty, I drink. I do these things to survive. And in order to live a healthy, productive life, I have to do these things daily. If I want to live a healthy, productive Spiritual life, I also have to feed my spirit, that part of me that communicates with God.  So many analogies between the physical and the spiritual could be made here. The bottom line is, both have to be fed in order to survive.

When I feed my physical body, what is my goal? To continue living, of course. But living how? Do I just want to get by or do I want to be physically strong, and capable of going out and doing things, living life, having adventures?  (I want the later and have recently begun an exercise program to work toward this goal)

I also have to have a goal for my Spiritual life. My goal is to always know what God wants…that leads to the righteousness part of the verse.

Righteousness: integrity, virtue, purity of life, rightness, correctness of thinking feeling, and acting (blueletterbible.org and Strong’s Concordance)

Reading the Bible is a very good way to figure out how God wants me to live. But our fellowship: talking about it, thinking about it, listening to each other’s views, is also a very important part of learning how to live a “righteous” life. And don’t just take my word as truth about what we discuss. You must question everything I say…make me prove it!

The Bible says in James, chapter 1, verse 22— “But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.” (emphasis added—KJV) Just like the Beatitude, I must DO something. James says to be doers of the word, Jesus says DO hunger and thirst. Get active about it! Get busy doing it! I have to stop simply thinking about what to do next; I have to DO what is next. This applies to seeking righteousness, but also seeking life. I have to stop sitting around waiting for life to come to me…I have to go get life.

 

Good stuff…those Beatitudes!!!

 

P.S. The last part of the James scripture…”deceiving your own selves”…that will make a great discussion!!! But we’ll save it for another time 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Hungry!!!

  1. I might be over simplifying it but as I read this, the saying of healthy mind, healthy body kept coming to mind. Emissary gave us food for thought (no pun) and we can have good fellowship communication of how to accomplish this. Is it as easy as exercising the body and mind? We seem to make things complicated, but could it really be that simple? As with the final thought, do we only hear and deceive ourselves by pretending to be doers?

    Like

    1. Being a “doer” does not always mean I have to do something great. Do you agree? Even small things, done with the right heart, is still being a doer. The Bible says: “{41} For whosoever shall give you a cup of water to drink in my name, because ye belong to Christ, verily I say unto you, he shall not lose his reward.” {Mark 9:41 KJV}(blueletterbible.org). YES…being a doer can be just that easy!

      Like

      1. Yes, we agree but you also have to define “great”. Is great a big event or opening the door for a person with full hands, a parent walking with children, or a person using a walker or wheelchair? Or maybe saying hello how are you to another person? Or even take 30 seconds to hear the response? The biggest best things we ever do are the simplest and most important. You make great points and provide great verses, Emissary, thank you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

